User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Fiction Recommendations

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Please read this book knowing as little as possible going in! Ishiguro touches on many themes, from discrimination and perception to futility and free-will, in an exquisitely quiet manner. As you follow a group of kids growing up at a withdrawn boarding school, moments start to feel off. Word choice seems suspect. A sense of dread and unease fills the halls. - Tori

Staff Pick Badge
Never Let Me Go (Vintage International) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781400078776
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - March 14th, 2006

The Days of Abandonment by Elena Ferrante

The story of a woman's descent into madness after her husband abandons her with two children to raise. Olga's irrational behavior is the epitome of a woman on the verge. Ferrante's unsentimental descriptions of motherhood beautifully embody the resilience of a complex woman. For fans of Simone De Beauvoir's The Woman Destroyed. - Natalie O.

Staff Pick Badge
The Days of Abandonment Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translated by)
$16.00
ISBN: 9781933372006
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - September 1st, 2005

The Farming of Bones by Edwidge Danticat

A love story set in the most brutal of times, The Farming of Bones is one of those books you will read in one or two sittings and think about for the rest of your life. Set in Haiti during the Parsley Massacre of 1937, this book will force you to look at one of the worst moments in history. Danticat’s storytelling is so gripping, you won’t be able to look away. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
The Farming of Bones Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781616953492
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Soho Press - May 7th, 2013

The Testaments by Margaret Atwood

Get ready, everyone: it’s time to go back to Gilead. There aren’t many clues as to what we can expect from this follow up to The Handmaid’s Tale, but we can be sure that the journey will be harrowing. Atwood says she’s been inspired to write The Testaments partly because of the current political climate in the United States, so perhaps we’ll see a new Commander with a shockingly bad orange toupée? - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
The Testaments: The Sequel to The Handmaid's Tale Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780385543781
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nan A. Talese - September 10th, 2019

The Sweetest Fruits by Monique Truong

The Sweetest Fruits, Monique Truong is a brilliantly fictional retelling of the life of the Greek-Irish writer Lafcadio Hearn told through the stories of the three women, across multiple continents, who changed the direction of his life. This book is the best type of storytelling- one that connects to all senses, through journeys in time and place, and where the decisions and reflections of these women speak to the push and pull of women’s needs throughout time. A creative and beautiful tale. - Casey

Staff Pick Badge
The Sweetest Fruits: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735221017
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Viking - September 3rd, 2019

Everything Inside: Stories by Edwidge Danticat

At last, Edwidge Danticat (Krik? Krak!) returns to the short story, bringing her strong, clear, compassionate voice to the Haitian experience, whether in Miami, New York, or Haiti itself, and then beyond to the universal human experience. Examining loves lost or being found, families reimagined, and personal strength in the midst of crisis, Danticat cradles the complex heart of each, in vibrant, life-affirming prose. In her story “Dosas,” there is an altered sticker that claims “Everything inside is worth dying for” — an equally apt way to describe this collection. - Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Everything Inside: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780525521273
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - August 27th, 2019

Inland by Téa Obreht

The author of The Tiger’s Wife takes on the country western in this novel about an outlaw and a homesteader whose paths cross, changing both of their lives forever. Obreht’s ear for language will knock you sideways—you’ll feel the wind whipping across your face as you stare across the wide plains. Fans of Cormac McCarthy and Larry McMurtry who are hungry for more can happily satiate themselves on this epic. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Inland: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780812992861
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Random House - August 13th, 2019

Quichotte by Salman Rushdie

An homage to Don Quixote, the novel tells the story of a television-obsessed South Asian man who sets out on a journey to win the heart of an actress he’s never met. Along for the ride is his imaginary son, Sancho. The book is also the story of Sam DuChamp, a mediocre and mostly failed author of spy thrillers—and the creator of Quichotte. Though one of the main characters is real, and a couple of the others are fictional, they are all fully realized, deeply human and absolutely compelling. As usual, Rushdie’s writing dazzles with intelligence, humor, breakneck pacing and brilliant turns of phrase. This is easily my favorite novel of the year. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Quichotte: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593132982
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Random House - September 3rd, 2019

Dominicana by Angie Cruz

A luminous coming-of-age story. Ana, a young Dominican girl forced into marriage on the slim hope it will help bring her family to America, lives a life of cold isolation, confined to her abusive husband’s New York apartment, but when political chaos draws him back to the island and Ana is left behind, a new world opens up beneath her feet, and Ana must choose between duty and desire. - Katherine

Staff Pick Badge
Dominicana: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250205933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - September 3rd, 2019

The World Doesn't Require You: Stories by Rion Amilcar Scott

This book is a stream of devastating sermons on racial injustice. Metaphysical and often experimental short stories penned in raw and irreverent prose. If Friday Black was speculative Ta-Nahesi Coates, then this book is a speculative WuTang Album. Strong language warning! Not for your sweet little grandmama. - Jason

Staff Pick Badge
The World Doesn't Require You: Stories Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781631495380
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - August 20th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Fiction Recommendations