User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Great Upcoming Events for Kids




Mon, Mar 2nd - 5:00pm

Bestselling author James Riley will join us to share the latest book in his thrilling The Revenge of Magic series. After long-dead magical creatures and magical books are discovered across the world, governmental forces want to unlock this power for themselves. But to do so, they are going to need the help of kids to harness the magic.

Dealing with monster attacks and his missing father has been hard enough for Fort Fitzgerald in his first month at the Oppenheimer School. But there's another school for magic, this one in the United Kingdom, that's about to create even bigger problems.

Six of the Carmarthen Academy students found themselves lost in time when they first started learning magic. Now they've returned, with news of a coming war that the students claim only they can stop.

But their new plan for the world might lead to an even worse future, one that Fort and his friends are destined to help bring about, no matter how much they might want to fight it.

Can Fort change the future that the Time students have already seen play out? Or is he destined to pay for his past mistakes for all of time?

James Riley lives in Virginia. He is the New York Times bestselling author of the Half Upon a Time, Story Thieves, and Revenge of Magic series.

"This imaginative and exciting story feels like the start of something big." —Brandon Mull, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fablehaven and Dragonwatch

"A fast-paced, adventurous series starter perfect for fans of Rick Riordan." —Booklist

"Fans of Harry Potter and Rick Riodan's books will enjoy the crafted mixture of magic and military life." —School Library Connection

 

This free event will take place at Bookshop Santa Cruz. Chairs for open seating are usually set up about an hour before the event begins. If you have any ADA accommodation requests, please email info@bookshopsantacruz.com by February 29th.




Sun, Mar 8th - 4:00pm

Bookshop welcomes Kate Schatz and Miriam Klein Stahl, the New York Times bestselling team behind Rad American Women A-Z, for a reading and signing of Rad American History A–Z, their new illustrated collection of radical and transformative political, social, and cultural movements in American history.

"An engaging, fascinating, and necessary book that speaks truth to power."--Congresswoman Barbara Lee

In Rad American History A-Z, each letter of the alphabet tells the story of a significant moment in America's progressive history--one that isn't always covered in history classes: A is for Alcatraz, and the Native occupation of 1969; C is for the Combahee River Raid, a Civil War action planned in part by Union spy Harriet Tubman; Z is for Zuccotti Park, and the Occupy movement that briefly took over the world.

Paired with dynamic paper-cut art by Miriam Klein Stahl, the entries by Kate Schatz explore several centuries of politics, culture, art, activism, and liberation, including radical librarians, Supreme Court cases, courageous youth, punk rocker grrrls, Southern quilts, and modern witches. In addition to the twenty-six core stories, short sidebars expand the discussion, and dictionary-style lists refer readers to additional key moments. So while F is for Federal Theater Project, a New Deal-era program that employed thousands of artists, F is also for Freedom Rides and First Amendment. E is for Earth First!, but also for Endangered Species Act and Equal Rights Amendment.

There are tales of triumph, resilience, creation, and hope. Each engaging, fact-filled narrative illustrates an eye-opening moment that shows us how we got to now--and what we need to know about our histories to create a just and sustainable future.

Kate Schatz is a feminist writer, activist, and educator. With illustrator Miriam Klein Stahl, she is the author of the New York Times bestsellers Rad American Women A-Z and Rad Women Worldwide, as well as My Rad Life: A Journal and Rad Girls Can. Kate is the co-founder of Solidarity Sundays, a nationwide network of feminist activist groups, and she speaks often about politics, resistance, feminism, race, parenting, and more.

Miriam Klein Stahl is an artist, educator, and activist. In addition to her work in printmaking, drawing, sculpture, and paper-cut and public art, she is also the co-founder of the Arts and Humanities Academy at Berkeley High School, where she has taught since 1995.

 

This free event will take place at Bookshop Santa Cruz. Chairs for open seating are usually set up about an hour before the event begins. If you have ADA accommodation requests, please email info@bookshopsantacruz.com by March 6th.




Tue, Mar 31st - 7:00pm

Bookshop welcomes acclaimed local poet, editor, and teacher Patrice Vecchione (Ink Knows No Borders: Poems of the Immigrant and Refugee Experience) for a celebration of her newest book, My Shouting, Shattered, Whispering Voice—the ultimate writing guide for teens.

Ever had an emotion or experience you wanted to express, but didn't know how? This guide encourages teens to find their voices, step up and speak their truths, and articulate what matters to them most--both personally and politically--whether it be boldly to an outside audience or just privately for themselves.

Young adults are reading and writing and performing poetry more than ever before, and yet it's the most difficult form for schools to teach. Written in short, easy-to-digest chapters, My Shouting, Shattered, Whispering Voice includes prompts and inspiration, writing suggestions and instruction, brief interviews with some current popular poets such as Kim Addonizio, Safia Elhillo, and others, and poem excerpts scattered throughout the book.

My Shouting, Shattered, Whispering Voice offers ways to express rage, frustration, joy, and sorrow, and to substitute apathy with creativity, usurp fear with daring, counteract anxiety with the joy of writing one word down and then another to express vital, but previously unarticulated, thoughts. Most importantly, here you can discover the value of your own voice and come to believe that what you have to say matters.

Patrice Vecchione is a poet, nonfiction writer and teacher who discovered poetry when she needed it most--as a teenager. She has edited several highly acclaimed anthologies for young adults including most recently, Ink Knows No Borders: Poems of the Immigrant and Refugee Experience, which Newbery Award winning author, Matt de la Peña, called "the most important book we will read this year," Truth & Lies, which was named one of the best children's books by School Library Journal, Revenge & Forgiveness, and Faith & Doubt, named a best book of the year for young adults by the American Library Association. She's the author of Writing and the Spiritual Life and Step into Nature: Nurturing Imagination and Spirit in Everyday Life, as well as two collections of poetry. For many years, Patrice has taught poetry and creative writing to young people (often working with migrant children) through her program, "The Heart of the Word: Poetry and the Imagination." She is also a columnist for her local daily paper, The Monterey Herald, and has published essays on children and poetry for several outlets including the California Library Association Journal. patricevecchione.com.

"My Shouting, Shattering, Whispering Voice: A Guide to Writing Poetry and Speaking your Truth should be required reading for beginning writers as well as those who have been writing for decades. It gives us endless ways to access our creative selves and shows us how to shape our experiences into poetry...This book reassured me that we all have the capacity to create something beautiful and that our words need not be 'hollow almosts.'" —Marcelo Hernandez Castillo, author of Children of the Land

"Patrice Vecchione's My Shouting, Shattered, Whispering Voice is more than a guide to writing poetry. It is an act of generosity and empathy, a helping hand to anyone who dreams of telling their truth through words on a page. Vecchione offers inspiration, wisdom and down-to-earth advice, covering everything from writer's block to adjectives and stanzas. My Shouting, Shattered, Whispering Voice is an invaluable resource, a book that honors and fosters what Adrienne Rich called "the necessity of poetry." —Ellen Bass, author of Indigo

This free event will take place at Bookshop Santa Cruz. Chairs for open seating are usually set up about an hour before the event begins. If you have ADA Accommodation Requests, pelase email info@bookshopsantacruz.com by March 29th.