User menu

Shopping cart

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

VIRTUAL EVENT: Jerry Spinelli, Dead Wednesday

Thursday, August 5, 2021 - 6:00pm

VIRTUAL EVENT: Fans of Stargirl and Maniac Magee rejoice! Newbery Medalist Jerry Spinelli will discuss Dead Wednesday, his brilliant new middle grade novel about being bold and taking charge of your life, at a special online event with author Adam Gidwitz (The Unicorn Rescue Society).

"Jerry Spinelli has created another middle grade masterpiece. These are unforgettable characters.  ...authentic and frequently funny...riveting." —BookPage, starred review

Register for this free Crowdcast here.

This is a free event. The featured book may be preordered below. 

Worm Tarnauer has spent most of eighth grade living down to his nickname. He prefers to be out of sight, underground. He walked the world unseen. He’s happy to let his best friend, Eddie, lead the way and rule the day.

And this day—Dead Wednesday—is going to be awesome. The school thinks assigning each eighth grader the name of a teenager who died in the past year and having them don black shirts and become “invisible” will make them contemplate their own mortality. Yeah, sure. The kids know that being invisible to teachers really means you can get away with anything. It’s a day to go wild!

But Worm didn’t count on Becca Finch (17, car crash). Letting this girl into his head is about to change everything.

Jerry Spinelli tells the story of the unexpected, heartbreaking, hilarious, truly epic day when Worm Tarnauer discovers his own life.

JERRY SPINELLI is the author of many beloved novels for young readers, including Stargirl; Love, Stargirl; Milkweed; The Warden’s Daughter; Crash; Wringer; and Maniac Magee, winner of the Newbery Medal; along with Knots in My Yo-Yo String, the autobiography of his childhood. A graduate of Gettysburg College, he lives in Pennsylvania with his wife, poet and author Eileen Spinelli.

ADAM GIDWITZ is the author of the critically acclaimed, New York Times bestselling Grimm trilogy. He spent six years researching and writing his Newbery Honor-winning The Inquisitor's Tale, including a year living in Europe. Adam lives with his family in Brooklyn, NY. Find Adam online at adamgidwitz.com or @AdamGidwitz.

Staff Pick Badge
Dead Wednesday Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593306673
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 3rd, 2021

The Secret of the Himalayas (The Unicorn Rescue Society #6) Cover Image
By Adam Gidwitz, Hena Khan, Hatem Aly (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780735231450
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - May 4th, 2021