User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Science & Nature

The End of Everything by Katie Mack

A book about the end of life, the universe, and everything? Right NOW? Pop-culture references and complex scientific concepts (made absolutely relatable and understandable!) aside, physicist Katie Mack is funny, educated, incredibly smart—and will make you feel the same. Mack’s passion will hook you through to the last (hilarious) footnote, leaving you exhilarated for what is still to be discovered (and following @AstroKatie on Twitter) before the end. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The End of Everything: (Astrophysically Speaking) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781982103552
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - May 4th, 2021

The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred by Chanda Prescod-Weinstein

In spite of pervasive myths, there is no such thing as “pure” science: It has always been intrinsically linked to our history and culture. Dr. Chanda Prescod-Weinstein begins The Disordered Cosmos with sheer nerdy joy, introducing the theoretical physics that is her passion, and then moves into an exploration of the inherent injustices within Western science, and calls for science to be done better. Drawn from research, observation, and her experiences as a queer, agender, disabled femme Jewish Black woman, this is an incredibly powerful, accessible, inspiring book. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781541724709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bold Type Books - March 9th, 2021

Waves and Beaches: The Powerful Dynamics of Sea and Coast by Kim McCoy & Willard Bascom

It’s hard to imagine a more perfect book for ocean-loving Santa Cruzans. Part coffee-table piece in a lovely package and with full-color images throughout; part scientific primer on water, shore, wind, and waves; part firsthand accounting and personal experience, this Patagonia publication is a treat from cover to cover. Updated from the 1963 original, it also has much to say on climate change and its effects today, making it a key read for environmental activists as well as for our surfers, sailors, and ocean enthusiasts. — Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Waves and Beaches: The Powerful Dynamics of Sea and Coast Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9781938340956
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Patagonia - March 16th, 2021

A Most Remarkable Creature by Jonathan Meiburg

In 1833, a young Charles Darwin encountered the mysterious and island-bound striated caracaras. Forced to abandon further investigation, he set this mystery aside. In A Most Remarkable Creature, Jonathan Meiburg takes up Darwin’s abandoned torch and brings the reader on a wide-ranging, enlightening journey through the bird’s history and origins. Curious and intelligent, the striated caracaras are fascinating creatures, and I found myself utterly engrossed in their story. — Brooks

Staff Pick Badge
A Most Remarkable Creature: The Hidden Life and Epic Journey of the World's Smartest Birds of Prey Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781101875704
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - March 30th, 2021

Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest by Suzanne Simard

In this book that will appeal to fans of The Soul of the Octopus and H Is for Hawk, Simard relates her years of experience and her groundbreaking findings on the relationship between belowground fungi and trees. Highlighting the symbiotic nature of the relationship, she shows the surprising amount in common within our own human ties. I love a book that has a woman on a journey, and that’s what this memoir is: part scientific discovery, part personal journey. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780525656098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 4th, 2021

Helgoland: Making Sense of the Quantum Revolution by Carlo Rovelli

I am thrilled with Carlo Rovelli’s new book, Helgoland. In an enjoyable and revelatory blend of biography, history, and science writing, Rovelli takes us from the secluded island in the North Sea where quantum mechanics was born, all the way to the mystery-filled present. This book was a joy to read, and the accessible style kept me turning one page after another. It refreshed my world and reminded me that there’s always something new to discover. — Brooks

Helgoland: Making Sense of the Quantum Revolution Cover Image
By Carlo Rovelli, Erica Segre (Translated by), Simon Carnell (Translated by)
$20.00
ISBN: 9780593328880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 25th, 2021

Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss by Margaret Renkl

Late Migrations is everything I want nature writing, memoir, and essay to be: gorgeous, contemplative, connective. Renkl weaves her own family’s story into the fabric of the living world around her, marking love, loss, and the passage of time in ways both heartbreakingly real and refreshingly expansive. Her brother's accompanying illustrations further encapsulate all the wonder. — Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Late Migrations: A Natural History of Love and Loss Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781571313836
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - March 30th, 2021

Becoming Wild by Carl Safina

By spending deep time with Carl Safina and the sperm whales, scarlet macaws, and chimpanzees he studies, we become armchair travelers, delighting in his knowledge and wonder for these animals. Becoming Wild explores the ways sperm whales care for their young, macaws use beauty, and chimpanzees relate to one another. It reminds us that we cannot trademark these aspects of culture, we are not unique; more importantly, it returns us to our own better natures and asks us to care for the world we’re missing when we center ourselves. — Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Becoming Wild: How Animal Cultures Raise Families, Create Beauty, and Achieve Peace Cover Image
$19.00
ISBN: 9781250787613
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - April 6th, 2021

The Zoologist’s Guide to the Galaxy by Arik Kershenbaum

Common conception is that the discovery of alien life (beyond microbes) is unlikely, a one-in-a-trillion chance. But zoologist Arik Kershenbaum is here to dispel that belief, with science! If varying and intelligent life can exist here on Earth, why not on other planets? In his engaging manner, Kershenbaum breaks down the components necessary for intelligent life and explains how and why this process is also possible on other planets, even those with vastly different ecosystems. I found myself reassessing my understanding of evolution and humanity and of my place in space. Instead of asking ourselves if humans are alone in the universe, the more accurate question might be “Are we unique?” A truly fascinating read. — Jade

Staff Pick Badge
The Zoologist's Guide to the Galaxy: What Animals on Earth Reveal About Aliens--and Ourselves Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781984881960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - March 16th, 2021

The Forests of California & The California Field Atlas: Deluxe Edition by Obi Kaufmann

Rejoice, fans of Obi Kaufmann! We are getting two new publications from this talented naturalist: a deluxe edition of The California Field Atlas (larger hardcover format) and a new book focusing specifically on the powerful forests of California. With Kaufmann’s signature watercolor illustrations, The Forests of California explores the massive biodiversity found in the hundreds of tree species in our magnificent state. It is a gorgeous must-have for the nature lover in your life. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Forests of California: A California Field Atlas Cover Image
$55.00
ISBN: 9781597144797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heyday Books - September 8th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Science & Nature