User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Poetry

Hard Child by Natalie Shapero

Ordinarily, I hesitate to share poetry so steeped in death, but “Death is the worst/ sort of lurker. The best soldier of fortune./ It hardly refuses anyone’s offer.” I can’t refuse a single poem Shapero offers; her words roll forward effortlessly, turn on unexpected images and rhyme, examining God with no pretension or artifice. I will read this collection again and again until I’m as dead as anything Shapero discusses. Perfect. - a.c.

Staff Pick Badge
Hard Child Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781556595097
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Copper Canyon Press - April 4th, 2017

Beowulf by J.R.R. Tolkien (translator)

Beowulf is one of the great epics of the Western tradition, and one of the main inspirations for JRR Tolkien's collection of stories set in Middle Earth. Following Beowulf from his dramatic arrival through his heroic trials to the end of his life, this version also includes direct translations from Old English and commentary from Tolkien himself. - Ian

Staff Pick Badge
Beowulf: A Translation and Commentary Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780544570306
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Mariner Books - August 4th, 2015

Application for Release from the Dream by Tony Hoagland

The most concise array of observations about humanity that I have ever seen blended into one book of poetry. This collection is stunning; since its release in 2015, it has offered a swift kick in the gut to everyone with whom I've shared it, and an intense, immediate declaration, "this is good." Impossible to pass up; dark, beautiful and perfect, you'll reread it many times. - a.c.

Staff Pick Badge
Application for Release from the Dream: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977184
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - September 1st, 2015

The Sobbing School by Joshua Bennett

A debut collection and my favorite poetry release of 2016. Incredibly beautiful and artful, with affecting imagery, intelligent allusions, small pieces of language like glass shards perfectly placed to catch you in the heart. Ideal for fans of Rankine's Citizen. Bennett is an exceptional writer, almost mandatory reading. I looked up each reference as I went, and then read it straight through the second I'd finished. - a.c.

Staff Pick Badge
The Sobbing School (Penguin Poets) Cover Image
By Joshua Bennett, Eugene Gloria (Selected by)
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143111863
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Penguin Books - September 27th, 2016

No Matter the Wreckage by Sarah Kay

I first was introduced to Sarah Kay via her TedTalk called If I Should Have a Daughter where she recites two poems from this book as well as speak about how she uses poetry to figure out life's nuances. This is showcased in the book. I am in love with the poem "B" as well as "Postcards." - Karena

Staff Pick Badge
No Matter the Wreckage Cover Image
By Sarah Kay, Sophia Janowitz (Illustrator)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781938912481
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Write Bloody Publishing - March 18th, 2014

The Rain in Portugal by Billy Collins

If you enjoy Collins’ light, conversational style, you will enjoy this new collection. Full of accessible poems about (mostly) familiar subjects, written in the slyly humorous style that I do so love, The Rain in Portugal is thought provoking and entertaining. Collins has a knack for taking a serious poem and sending it twisting into whimsy and for finding the hidden depth in a moment of frivolity. —Nici

Staff Pick Badge
The Rain in Portugal: Poems Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780679644064
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - October 4th, 2016

Odes by Sharon Olds

Sharon Olds brings the age-old form of the ode to new life in this powerful, charming collection of poems. Always provocative, intelligent, searing, and playful, full of direct and sidelong truths, Olds addresses the woman, the body, its politics and relationships, its triumphs and changes over time. Inspired by Neruda’s odes to common things, her new book begins delightfully with “Ode to the Hymen” and delivers equally on the illumination of this wonderful, complicated life. —Melinda

 

Staff Pick Badge
Odes Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780451493620
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Knopf - September 20th, 2016

My Private Property by Mary Ruefle

This is the sort of poetry that leans on prose—is direct, is conversational—but that is so imagistic, brazen, and obsessed with meaning that each word imprints itself on your very bones. I love this collection. Ruefle looks at the world with a wry, mature gaze, resulting in a work definitional and sometimes dark but also too beautiful to be entirely jaded. I had the uncomfortable impression that she was staring into my eyes and advising me, woman to woman, on how to live. —a.c.

 

Staff Pick Badge
My Private Property Cover Image
$25.00
ISBN: 9781940696386
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Wave Books - October 4th, 2016

Envelope Poems by Emily Dickinson

In 2013, New Directions published The Gorgeous Nothings, an exquisite collector’s edition of Emily Dickinson’s envelope poems in rich facsimile. These handwritten poems and musings, scribbled on the backs of envelopes, are now available in a curated gift format, still beautifully reproduced with facing-page text translation but now irresistibly affordable. With pieces like “But are not all Facts Dreams as soon as we put them behind us” captured, this is a surefire way to appreciate and inspire.  —Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Envelope Poems Cover Image
By Emily Dickinson, Jen Bervin (Editor), Marta Werner (Editor)
$14.95
ISBN: 9780811225823
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: New Directions - October 4th, 2016

Hold Your Own by Kate Tempest

Kate Tempest writes not with the beat of the heart, but with the force of the tide, the world’s pulse, pulling you inexorably in and out as the dirt and breath and sex of the everyday is revealed to also be the mythic. Starting from the Greek story of Tiresias, the blind prophet once woman, now man, Tempest’s poetry is beautiful, rude, legendary, and immediate, exploring what it means to be human in this world. —Jocelyn
Staff Pick Badge
Hold Your Own: Poems Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781632862051
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Bloomsbury USA - March 10th, 2015

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Poetry