User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Middle Grade Books

That Thing about Bollywood by Supriya Kelkar

This is a fun, vibrant, full-of-heart fairy tale set in the modern world that uses magic in the best way: to make the complexities of real life easier to understand. Supriya Kelkar’s Sonali is recognizable and likeable, even as she struggles against the musical Bollywood world she finds herself in, with the forces of change pressing in on her friends and family and against her. For anyone who wants stories of the real world but also appreciates a bit of whimsy. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
That Thing about Bollywood Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534466739
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - May 18th, 2021

Ophie’s Ghosts by Justina Ireland

Middle-grade historical fiction with a supernatural twist! I love a haunted manor and ghostly friendships, and that’s where we find ourselves with Ophie. It’s 1922 and in order to save for a home of their own, Ophie joins her mother in working at Daffodil Manor. However, not all ghosts are friendly and, like many old homes, this one has secrets within. It may all be more than Ophie bargained for. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Ophie’s Ghosts Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062915894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 18th, 2021

The Anti-Book by Raphael Simon

Mickey is angry at almost everything. One day he comes across an ad for The Anti-Book, which promises to make everything better. He orders a copy, hoping to cleanse his life of his dislikes, but finds out things are never that simple. Raphael Simon (previously Pseudonymous Bosch) wrote this funky tale about a grumpy boy learning to accept change and to love those who love him. A fun, funny, fast-paced book that explores the depth of the human experience with great care and nuance. — Edward

Staff Pick Badge
The Anti-Book Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525552413
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 6th, 2021

War and Millie McGonigle by Karen Cushman

Newbery Award winner Karen Cushman brings us another wonderful book of historical fiction. Fall in love with Millie as she attempts to find joy on the beaches of San Diego in 1941 but worries about a world where Hitler’s military rages through Europe and the Japanese are about to bomb Pearl Harbor. Millie feels caught in the middle of it all. This hopeful take on a difficult time is excellent for readers who might be struggling with difficulties of their own. — Kathy

Staff Pick Badge
War and Millie McGonigle Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984850102
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - April 6th, 2021

Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations, Book 1) by B. B. Alston

The mysterious delivery of a suitcase triggered to open at midnight launches our hero Amari into Junior Agent try-outs at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs, and us readers into an intricate all-new magical system. The racism and classism faced by Amari in middle school have parallels in this fantastical world created by #ownvoices debut author B. B. Alston, but Amari has been training for these challenges her whole life. Quick, read this first book in a new trilogy! —Michelle

Staff Pick Badge
Amari and the Night Brothers (Supernatural Investigations #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062975164
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - January 19th, 2021

The Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

Babita knew that one day she, Papi, and Mami would fly to El Norte like the cranes, then “bad men could not harm them, and Abuelita would not worry.” Years later in the US, Papi is swept up in an ICE raid. When Babita and Mami are held in detention, Babita uses her picture stories to help her family find one another. This powerful novel in verse is affirming for immigrant children and those wanting to grow their worldview.  — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Land of the Cranes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Becoming Muhammad Ali Written by James Patterson & Kwame Alexander Illustrated by Dawud Anyabwile

“Boxing was his way out and his way up.” This biographical novel focuses on the early years of the famous boxer Cassius Clay, later known as Muhammad Ali. The story is told in prose by Cassius’s “best friend” Lucky and supported by the boxer’s own voice in poetic form. Strong family values, Black pride, and the determination to never give up are all themes effectively displayed. Sensitive and fast-paced, this book is engaging for even the most reluctant reader. — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Becoming Muhammad Ali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316498166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Jimmy Patterson - October 5th, 2020

Cinders & Sparrows by Stefan Bachmann

This is the perfect fall read, arriving just in time for Halloween but great for any time of year! Fantasy lovers will immediately devour Zita’s journey from neglected orphan to powerful magic user. Zita is fierce and determined, with a big heart, and no matter what any devious witches and wizards say, there is much more power in being kind than there is in darkness and cruelty. I hope to see more from this little Sparrow! — Jae

Staff Pick Badge
Cinders and Sparrows Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062289957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - October 13th, 2020

The Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

Babita knew that one day she, Papi, and Mami would fly to El Norte like the cranes, then “bad men could not harm them, and Abuelita would not worry.” Years later in the US, Papi is swept up in an ICE raid. When Babita and Mami are held in detention, Babita uses her picture stories to help her family find one another. This powerful novel in verse is affirming for immigrant children and those wanting to grow their worldview.  
— Noreen
 

Staff Pick Badge
Land of the Cranes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai

Henry Khoo, who is NOT a baby, is on a mission to prove his independence. His proof? He’s going on a long-distance trip by himself without telling his family. What follows is a series of mishaps worthy of a farce. This graphic novel/prose hybrid is hilarious, fun, and inspiring. I related so much to Henry and was charmed by his successes and mistakes. Great for fans of Jerry Craft’s New Kid and Shannon Hale’s work. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Fly on the Wall Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250314116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 15th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Middle Grade Books