User menu

Shopping cart

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Kids Graphic Novels

Between Shades of Grey: The Graphic Novel written by Ruta Sepetys, adapted by Andrew Donkin

How do people survive living under a fascist government? This beautiful graphic version of Ruth Septys’ historical novel is based on interviews with Lithuanian people who actually survived their teen years under Stalinist repression. The drawings bring to life 15-year-old Lina’s experience of fear, loss, and survival. Young readers of other popular historically based graphic novels (White Bird, When Stars Are Scattered) will love this story.—Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Between Shades of Gray: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
By Ruta Sepetys, Andrew Donkin (Adapted by), Dave Kopka (Illustrator), Brann Livesay (With), Chris Dickey (With)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593404850
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Philomel Books - October 12th, 2021

Huda F Are You? by Huda Fahmy

Huda Fahmy's sense of humor is undeniable, and her story is undeniably relatable. Fahmy as Huda F carefully explores not just the prejudice she faced in high school as a Muslim, but her pride and joy in her faith. At the same time, with friendly illustration and introspective narration, she explores a universal story of a teen looking for friends, connection, identity, and belief in oneself. I smiled through this story, feeling I met a new friend myself.—Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Huda F Are You? Cover Image
By Huda Fahmy, Huda Fahmy (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9780593324318
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Dial Books - November 23rd, 2021

Barb the Last Berzerker by Dan Abdo & Jason Patterson

Barb is a rough and tough young Berzerker who can’t wait to kick some monster butt! But when her pals get in trouble, she finds the unlikeliest of friends to help her on her epic quest to save them. For fans of sword & sorcery fantasy and cartoons like Adventure Time, this graphic novel will keep you laughing as you encounter monsters, wizards, and fighters alongside the charmingly silly and utterly lovable Barb the Last Berzerker!—Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Barb the Last Berzerker Cover Image
By Dan Abdo, Jason Patterson, Dan Abdo (Illustrator), Jason Patterson (Illustrator)
$13.99
ISBN: 9781534485716
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 28th, 2021

¡¡Manu!! by Kelly Fernández

In a fresh, vibrant take on the school for magic genre, Kelly Fernández draws on the practices of brujería and Catholic saint patronage to create a lush setting inspired by the Dominican Republic. Exploring themes of belonging, friendship, and self-discovery, this heartwarming adventure is perfect for fans of The Witch Boy by Molly Knox Ostertag, Nightlights by Lorena Alvarez, and The Okay Witch by Emma Steinkellner.—Molly S.

Staff Pick Badge
Manu: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338264180
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - November 2nd, 2021

The Secret Garden on 81st Street written by Ivy Noelle Weird, illustrated by Amber Padilla

Everyone wants a secret…and needs a friend. Ivy Noelle Weir and Amber Padilla deliver a lovely graphic novel of renewal, hope, and connection. Any kid who has ever been lonely will relate to Mary, Colin, and Dickon as they find each other. Inspiration can be found in their care for themselves and for the people, plants, and world around them. A welcome update to a traditional classic, this beautiful fable for our current modern world stands on its own.—Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Secret Garden on 81st Street: A Modern Graphic Retelling of The Secret Garden (Classic Graphic Remix) Cover Image
By Ivy Noelle Weir, Amber Padilla (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780316459709
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - October 19th, 2021

Artie and the Wolf Moon by Olivia Stephens

This thrilling supernatural graphic novel about a teen girl who just found out she descends from a long line of werewolves is a perfect blend of action and heart. Olivia Stephens weaves a tale of loss, growing up, and family, both found and biological. With art that jumps off the page and a sweet, sapphic romance, fans of Mooncakes and Spill Zone will want to sink their teeth into this fantasy adventure. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Artie and the Wolf Moon Cover Image
By Olivia Stephens, Olivia Stephens (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781728420202
Availability: Backordered
Published: Graphic Universe (Tm) - September 7th, 2021

The Bug Club by Elise Gravel

Not only is this little hardcover educational, but it’s so CUTE. Even the passing appreciator of nature will love this adorably illustrated guide to our six-legged friends. Elise Gravel uses her charming art and handwritten text to create an approachable guide that feels more like sharing notes with a very smart friend than reading lists of facts. As a big fan of bugs, I may be biased, but this book is a must-have for the future entomologist in your life. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Bug Club Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781770464155
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - August 10th, 2021

Cranky Chicken by Katherine Battersby

A cranky chicken and an optimistic worm are unlikely pals in this hilarious series starter about friendship and learning to love people as they are. Cranky likes being cranky and doesn’t want any friends, but after saving a worm named Speedy, it would seem she is stuck with one. The illustrations are laugh-out-loud funny, and I have never felt like a chicken was a kindred spirit until now. Perfect for fans of Bad Guys and the Narwhal and Jelly series. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Cranky Chicken Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781534469884
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 7th, 2021

The Quest for Snacks by Susie Yi

This little book is full of so much magic, good-hearted lessons, and delicious snacks you won’t be able to resist taking these cats home with you! Squash and Ginny are on the hunt for ingredients to make a potion for never-ending snacks. Along the way they make new friends, learning a lot about themselves and each other. The art is adorable and the storyline was fun, but what I most enjoyed were the lessons of kindness and responsibility these kitties learn, making this a perfect addition to any child’s library. —Jax

Staff Pick Badge
Cat & Cat Adventures: The Quest for Snacks Cover Image
By Susie Yi, Susie Yi (Illustrator)
$8.99
ISBN: 9780063083806
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperAlley - September 7th, 2021

Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel by Jennifer L. Holm & Savanna Ganucheau

Available in paperback

Despite never before having met the relatives she’s staying with in Key West, Turtle wastes no time taking charge. She shows tenacity and fearlessness as she joins her cousin’s babysitting business, and even secures a job on a fishing boat. The artwork is decidedly tropical, and my favorite part is the legend of the pirate’s treasure. This graphic novel reminded me that sometimes all you need is a change of scenery to come out of your shell. — Celeste

Staff Pick Badge
Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593126301
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - June 29th, 2021

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Kids Graphic Novels