User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Kids Graphic Novels

Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel by Jennifer L. Holm & Savanna Ganucheau

Available in paperback

Despite never before having met the relatives she’s staying with in Key West, Turtle wastes no time taking charge. She shows tenacity and fearlessness as she joins her cousin’s babysitting business, and even secures a job on a fishing boat. The artwork is decidedly tropical, and my favorite part is the legend of the pirate’s treasure. This graphic novel reminded me that sometimes all you need is a change of scenery to come out of your shell. — Celeste

Staff Pick Badge
Turtle in Paradise: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593126301
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - June 29th, 2021

Delicates (Sheets, Volume 2) by Brenna Thummler

Have you ever been friends with a ghost? Majorie is friends with several, a nd Eliza is set on photographing one, even if everyone thinks it's weird. The setting reminds me of a pastel Stranger Things and captures a feeling I remember from eighth grade, of growing up where there are new friends but being a kid is not that far behind. Delicates is a reminder that you don’t have to feel like a middle school ghost; there are always people who see you. —Celeste

 

Staff Pick Badge
Delicates (Sheets #2) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781620107881
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - March 23rd, 2021

Katie the Catsitter, Book 1 Written by Colleen AF Venable Illustrated by Stephanie Yue

Katie can’t afford to go to summer camp, so she decides to take on odd jobs from her neighbors in order to raise the money to join her friends. She begins catsitting for her neighbor upstairs, whose cats—ALL 217 OF THEM—are absolutely hilarious... and possibly evil? This was a delightful read that had me chuckling all the way through, and it would be perfect for fans of superheroes or cats (like me!). —Eli

Staff Pick Badge
Katie the Catsitter Cover Image
By Colleen AF Venable, Stephanie Yue (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895639
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - January 5th, 2021

Agent 9: Flood-A-Geddon! by James Burks

Feline hero Agent 9 of the Super-Secret Spy Service is on a mission to keep the world safe from maniacal villains. King Crab has a diabolical plan to melt the polar ice cap and build a massive water park. Can Agent 9 save the day? Lots of fast action, humor, and suspense. Readers who like Baby Mouse or Mighty Robot should give this book a try. —Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Agent 9: Flood-a-Geddon! Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593202968
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - March 16th, 2021

Class Act by Jerry Craft

Newbery medalist Jerry Craft does it again. This companion to New Kid focuses on Jordan as well his friend Drew who, unlike light-skinned Jordan, faces othering based in colorism. How Craft takes serious subject matter and makes it hilarious remains a mystery to me, but I was literally laughing out loud while reading, just like I did with New Kid. A great choice for fans of the first installment, school stories, socially conscious books, and those who—like me—love to laugh! — Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
Class Act Cover Image
By Jerry Craft, Jerry Craft (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062885500
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - October 6th, 2020

Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yee

Lora, an occult-obsessed 12-year-old, doesn’t want to grow up. She feels left behind as her friends trade make-believe for makeup. Then she befriends Alexa, a ghost from the ’70s. Lora’s coming-of-age story is quirky and relatable, while Alexa’s is touching and poetic. The drawings are energetic and whimsical, with panels bursting with life and margins decorated with doodles. This magic-infused tale is an excellent choice for readers who loved The Witch Boy, Ghosts, or The Okay Witch. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Séance Tea Party: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

This book is a gift. In it, Nguyen offers readers a beautiful tale of immigration and coming out that weaves Vietnamese fairy tales into something magical and deeply moving. The art is nothing short of gorgeous. Being the daughter of immigrants myself, Tiến’s struggle to connect with his refugee parents resonated deeply with me, but this is a story that anyone can sink into and appreciate. I can’t wait to read what Nguyen does next. — Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish: (A Graphic Novel) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Written by Jason Reynolds Illustrated by Danica Novgorodoff

Fifteen-year-old Will gets on the elevator with a gun in his waistband. On his 60-second journey to the lobby, Will has “the Rules” in mind: No crying, no snitching, and get revenge. Who he meets on the elevator will help determine what Will does when he hits the lobby. This graphic novelization of the award-winning novel in verse chronicling one Black boy’s dilemma will grab you and not let go. A great choice for middle-grade to adult readers. — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534444959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 13th, 2020

Twins, Vol. 1 Written by Varian Johnson Illustrated by Shannon Wright

Francine and Maureen are best friends who happen to be identical twins. Starting sixth grade, Maureen doesn’t want things to change, but Francine suddenly wants to be Fran and pushes her sister away. Everything comes to a head when the sisters run against each other for class president. Both girls are realistically drawn (figuratively and literally) and I found myself bouncing between sides. If you’ve read Real Friends or Invisible Emmie, you’ll want to check out this series-starting graphic novel! — Ivy
 

Staff Pick Badge
Twins: A Graphic Novel Cover Image
By Varian Johnson, Varian Johnson, Shannon Wright (Illustrator), Shannon Wright (Illustrator)
$24.99
ISBN: 9781338236170
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Graphix - October 6th, 2020

White Bird: A Wonder Story by R.J. Palacio

Sara, a Jewish girl in Nazi-occupied France, has only ever wanted a normal life, but in a single, fateful day everything she knows and loves is destroyed. Relying on the everyday courage and kindness of friends and strangers, Sara fights for survival, finding hope in the unlikeliest of places. A companion book to her beloved novel Wonder, Palacio’s graphic novel debut is a harrowing but ultimately inspiring read. - Katherine

Staff Pick Badge
White Bird: A Wonder Story Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780525645535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kids Graphic Novels