User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

History & Politics

The Undocumented Americans by Karla Cornejo Villavicencio

I cannot recommend The Undocumented Americans highly enough—it is beautifully written, scathing in its critique of our country’s culpability, and real, real, real. Cornejo Villavicencio listens carefully and compassionately to the stories of people so often unheard and captures the complexity of their lives in raw, poignant pieces, giving a fullness to the undocumented Latinx experience beyond the narrow tropes meant to contain it. Interspersed throughout is her own story as an undocumented child immigrant from Ecuador and how she is continually coming to understand its impact on her life. Her voice is powerful—its service as a vessel for the many who are silenced is tenfold. This book is eye-opening, life-affirming, and change-making, if you listen.

Staff Pick Badge
The Undocumented Americans Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399592683
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - March 24th, 2020

Enemy of All Mankind A True Story of Piracy, Power, and History’s First Global Manhunt by Steven Johnson

Prepare to be transported from your favorite armchair to the high seas; reading this book is like bingeing a great history documentary. Enemy of All Mankind uses the story of a mysterious and infamous pirate named Henry Every to take the reader on a journey through the origins of piracy, the history of India’s economic system, the emergence of global trading corporations, the spread of Islam, the frustrating beginnings of celebrity journalism, and more. Steven Johnson knows how to write captivating history.

Staff Pick Badge
Enemy of All Mankind: A True Story of Piracy, Power, and History's First Global Manhunt Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735211605
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 12th, 2020

The Ghosts of Eden Park The Bootleg King, the Women Who Pursued Him, and the Murder That Shocked Jazz-Age America by Karen Abbott

Renowned historian Karen Abbott uses a wealth of primary source documents and her impeccable prose to bring to vivid life the story of millionaire kingpin bootlegger George Remus, US Assistant Attorney General Mabel Walker Willebrandt, and their Prohibition-era world. Abbott meticulously chronicles these larger-than-life characters’ journeys in this storied time, evocatively interspersing tantalizing courtroom testimony that hints at the scandal, betrayal, and murder to come. A true crime saga written to keep you turning pages.

Staff Pick Badge
The Ghosts of Eden Park: The Bootleg King, the Women Who Pursued Him, and the Murder That Shocked Jazz-Age America Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780451498632
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books - May 5th, 2020

Real Queer America LGBT Stories from Red States by Samantha Allen

Real Queer America is a cross-country road-trip stretching all the way from Provo, Utah, to the Deep South. It pairs a narrative tour through the sometimes surprising yet always vibrant queer communities in America’s red states with Samantha Allen’s own transition journey. This is a window into the profound cultural shifts underway in our country today, revealing an amazing national network of chosen family fighting for a better world. Real Queer America is a treasure trove of uplifting stories of incredible LGBTQ people working for change. Fans of Love and Estrogen and Susan Kuklin’s Beyond Magenta are sure to enjoy.

Staff Pick Badge
Real Queer America: LGBT Stories from Red States Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316516020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Back Bay Books - June 16th, 2020

Surviving Autocracy A Status Report by Masha Gessen

Having grown up queer in the Soviet Union and going on to cover the resurgence of totalitarianism in Russia, National Book Award winner Masha Gessen (The Future Is History) sounded the alarm about the trajectory America was on within the first 48 hours of Trump’s election. Her urgent book lays out the ways in which autocracy works and is also a guide to enduring and resisting the ongoing assault. Absolutely essential reading.

Staff Pick Badge
Surviving Autocracy Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780593188934
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - June 2nd, 2020

Wordslut A Feminist Guide to Taking Back the English Language by Amanda Montell

Have you ever stopped to think about the ways in which your language informs your worldview? Have you ever pondered whether the patriarchy participates in forming the way you think about sex, politics, and identity? If you are curious about these topics, reach for Wordslut. Bet you never realized how sexist it is to hate vocal fry! Amanda Montell will tell you why.

Staff Pick Badge
Wordslut: A Feminist Guide to Taking Back the English Language Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062868886
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Wave - June 2nd, 2020

The End of White Politics How to Heal Our Liberal Divide by Zerlina Maxwell

In her highly anticipated book, MSNBC analyst Zerlina Maxwell, who worked on both Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton’s campaigns, challenges us to look at the problems not of the right, but of the left—including white privilege, income inequality, and racism. Most especially, she argues that the Democratic party’s struggle to engage women and communities of color because of its preoccupation with catering to the white male working class, is the flaw that prevents true progress from succeeding. I can’t wait to get my hands on this book!

Staff Pick Badge
The End of White Politics: How to Heal Our Liberal Divide Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780306873614
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - July 7th, 2020

Alaric the Goth An Outsider’s History of the Fall of Rome by Douglas Boin

In his latest historical analysis, professor and author Douglas Boin weaves the intricate tale of Rome’s mysterious sacker, Alaric the Goth, with prose that is readable and engaging. Far from a barbarian, Alaric was a complex leader who grew up on the border between his Gothic kin and the aging Roman Empire. As Boin describes the fall of Rome and the rise of the Dark Ages, it is easy to draw parallels to our own decaying empire.

Staff Pick Badge
Alaric the Goth: An Outsider's History of the Fall of Rome Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780393635690
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - June 9th, 2020

Bygone Badass Broads by Mackenzi Lee

Do you know who Julie D'Aubigny is? What about Ursula Nordstrom? This is another one of those "Women You Didn't Know Existed Because Patriarchy" books, and I will never have enough of those, especially ones with art as gorgeous as this one. Lee takes us on a chronological tour around the world of women who changed history, science, and society simply by being Badass Broads. - J Gallo

Staff Pick Badge
Bygone Badass Broads: 52 Forgotten Women Who Changed the World Cover Image
By Mackenzi Lee, Ms. Petra Eriksson (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781419729256
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harry N. Abrams - February 27th, 2018

Prison Land by Brett Story

Story explores the prison industrial complex (and its long-lasting, devastating effects) everywhere around us: in racially charged urban policies; prison visitation buses full of women of color; in the bankrupted, jobless towns in the shadows of the carceral expansion; and even in public parks. Rigorously researched and endlessly empathetic and eye-opening, this book is a must-read. - Ksenia

Staff Pick Badge
Prison Land: Mapping Carceral Power across Neoliberal America Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781517906887
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Univ Of Minnesota Press - March 26th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - History & Politics