User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Stuart's Reviews

The Cost of These Dreams by Wright Thompson

Wright Thompson is one of America’s best long-form sportswriters because his stories are never “just” about sports. Thompson explores sports through the lenses of people, politics, regions, culture, and history with a deft eye, keen wit, and profound empathy, and delivers his stories through gorgeous prose. Thompson is a treasure, and while this collection is a must-read for sports fans, non–sports fans will absolutely be able to appreciate and enjoy Thompson’s writing, too. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Cost of These Dreams: Sports Stories and Other Serious Business Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780143133872
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - April 2nd, 2019

Storm of Locusts by Rebecca Roanhorse

I couldn’t put down this rip-roaring sequel of a novel. Roanhorse assumes you’re already familiar with the world she created in Trail of Lightning, which allows her to throw you headlong into a pulse-pounding adventure in the postapocalyptic hinterlands beyond the Navajo Nation’s protective wall. She continues to explore the complex, troubled characters from her first novel, introduces a couple of wonderful new heroes, and efficiently sets up the third book while still delivering a propulsive and captivating story. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Storm of Locusts (The Sixth World #2) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534413535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - April 23rd, 2019

The Water Knife by Paolo Bacigalupi

This is one of my all-time favorite sci-fi novels. Set in a drought-ravaged Southwestern U.S. (primarily Phoenix and Las Vegas), water is scarce, and Arizona, Nevada, and California fight over the meager water that remains. This novel is dark and grittily realistic with complex, well-developed characters, expert worldbuilding, and a gripping plot. I couldn’t put it down. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Water Knife Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804171533
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - April 5th, 2016

The Raven Tower by Ann Leckie

This novel is classic Ann Leckie. Her characters are understated and clever, her worldbuilding is rich, unique, and intimately detailed, and the mystery at the novel’s heart is slow to bloom but ultimately very satisfying. This is one hell of a fantasy world, and one I hope she continues to explore. If you like Leckie’s writing, you’ll love this novel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Raven Tower Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780316388696
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - February 26th, 2019

American Pop by Snowden Wright

This sweeping, gorgeously written novel follows the dynastic Forster family, who in Wright’s telling are the first family in America to invent and popularize soda pop. Wright follows each family member across decades and continents, and they are by turns troubled, ambitious, humorous, heroic, and tragic, but all are written with incredible sympathy and humanity. I adored it. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
American Pop: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062697745
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - February 5th, 2019

The Kingdom of Copper by S.A. Chakraborty

The City of Brass sequel is here! This novel again follows Nahri, Dara, and Ali, and introduces a terrifying new opponent—Nahri's own mother, who is determined to retake the Daevabad throne at any cost. Like its predecessor, this novel features a dynamic cast, captivating plot, rich political intrigue, and immersive worldbuilding. It’s the best kind of sequel. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Kingdom of Copper: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy #2) Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062678133
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - January 22nd, 2019

Let's Go (So We Can Get Back) by Jeff Tweedy

Jeff Tweedy—best known as the frontman for the bands Wilco and Uncle Tupelo—has had a long and storied career in the Chicago alternative rock scene. Let’s Go covers Tweedy’s life, from his childhood in Belleville, Illinois, to his musical start in St. Louis, to his move to Chicago and becoming part of Wilco. A must-read for any Wilco fan! -Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Let's Go (So We Can Get Back): A Memoir of Recording and Discording with Wilco, Etc. Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101985267
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - November 13th, 2018

The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

I loved this novel! Sujata Massey is a strong, confident storyteller and this captivating mystery, set in 1920s Bombay, features superb world-building, a riveting plot, and great characters. Perveen Mistry is a richly written protagonist: By turns confident and conflicted, she strives to do the right thing and is more than capable of getting herself out of trouble. Highly recommended for a fresh take on the mystery genre. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The Widows of Malabar Hill (A Perveen Mistry Novel #1) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616959760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - November 20th, 2018

A Girl's Guide to Missiles by Karen Piper

Karen Piper’s fascinating memoir is a surreal and starkly honest look at growing up on the secretive China Lake military base in the Mojave Desert, where Piper’s parents designed missiles for the U.S. Navy. With wit and humor, she explores the dichotomies of being raised in a strict but loving Baptist household by parents whose day jobs were to create some of America's most fearsome weapons of war. This memoir is perfect for fans of Tara Westover’s Educated. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
A Girl's Guide to Missiles: Growing Up in America's Secret Desert Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399564543
Availability: Backordered
Published: Viking - August 14th, 2018

The City of Brass by S.A. Chakraborty

This gripping fantasy novel focuses on Nahri, a young conwoman in 18th-century Cairo who accidentally summons a djinn warrior, and is then swept into an epic adventure to discover the truth of her heritage in Daevabad, the djinn capital city. The book features gorgeous prose, fantastic characters, and a riveting plot, with superb worldbuilding inspired by Islamic mythology. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
The City of Brass: A Novel (The Daevabad Trilogy) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062678119
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Voyager - July 3rd, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Stuart's Reviews