User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

S.B.'s Reviews

Stefanie has been the cookbook buyer at Bookshop Santa Cruz for over 25 years and credits her love of good food (and good times) to being born in New Orleans. Her favorite thing in the world is to cook for family and friends.

The Selected Works of Audre Lorde Edited by Roxane Gay

The timeless words of trailblazer Audre Lorde never fail to move, challenge, and inspire me. This stellar collection, edited by Roxane Gay, showcases the breadth of Lorde’s poems and prose as she speaks to motherhood, race, patriarchy, white feminism, and the fight for justice. For those new to Lorde’s thoughtful and brilliant work, Selected Works is a great introduction, and for those of us who are already admirers, it is an essential addition to our shelves. — S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Selected Works of Audre Lorde Cover Image
By Audre Lorde, Roxane Gay (Editor), Roxane Gay (Introduction by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781324004615
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - September 8th, 2020

Nose Dive by Harold McGee

McGee, author of the culinary science classic On Food and Cooking, explores the world of smell in his new book, Nose Dive. In this sensory-filled adventure, he combines hard science, biology, chemistry, and personal observation, to take readers on an accessible ride through the world of scent—from the everyday (cut grass) to the delightful (vanilla) to the unpleasant (rotten eggs). A great read for fans of Michael Pollan and Bill Bryson or anyone curious about why things smell the way they do. — S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
Nose Dive: A Field Guide to the World's Smells Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781594203954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - October 20th, 2020

Uprooted: A Gardener Reflects on Beginning Again

In an attempt to find a garden that was more manageable, Dickey said goodbye to her beloved and celebrated 3-acre garden, Duck Hill, and moved to a 17-acre site. Although much larger in size, the new plot is much less work because she is gardening it in a different way, one more in tune with nature. Uprooted is wonderfully written, and I really enjoyed reading about Dickey’s decision-making processes regarding ideology, planning, and plant selection. Engaging and beautifully illustrated, this is a treat for gardeners.  — S.B.

Uprooted: A Gardener Reflects on Beginning Again Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781604699579
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Timber Press - September 22nd, 2020

Windcliff by Daniel J. Hinkley

Windcliff is a beautiful book about world- renowned plant collector Daniel Hinkley’s two iconic private gardens, Heronswood and Windcliff, both in Washington, and how one begat the other. Part memoir and part hands-on gardening book, Windcliff showcases Hinkley’s gorgeous, harmonious, low-water plantings, which overlook Puget Sound. His passion for plants is infectious and Claire Takas’s photography is breathtaking. This inspiring book is one to cherish.  — S.B.

Windcliff: A Story of People, Plants, and Gardens Cover Image
By Daniel J. Hinkley, Claire Takacs (Photographs by)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781604699012
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Timber Press - September 22nd, 2020

Ottolenghi Flavor by Yotam Ottolenghi & Ixta Belfrage

In his newest cookbook (and surefire hit), bestselling author Yotam Ottolenghi teams up with colleague Ixta Belfrage to explore vegetable cooking by focusing on three key elements: process, pairing, and produce. The result is an exciting collection of 100 vegetarian recipes (more than half are vegan) with an emphasis on Italian and Mexican ingredients and techniques. Gorgeous and enticing (Miso Butter Onions! Spicy Mushroom Lasagna!), this collaboration will make Ottolenghi fans super happy. — S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
Ottolenghi Flavor: A Cookbook Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780399581755
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - October 13th, 2020

In Bibi’s Kitchen by Hawa Hassan, with Julia Turshen

Somali chef Hawa Hassan, in collaboration with Julia Turshen, has brought together the recipes and stories of grandmothers from eight African countries that touch the Indian Ocean in this transporting book. In Bibi’s Kitchen is absolutely filled with great food, but my favorite parts are the interviews with the grandmothers, who speak to the meaning of home and the importance of passing on food traditions. Beautiful in every way. — S.B.

The Flavor Equation by Nik Sharma

Nik Sharma’s debut cookbook, Season, is one of my all-time favorites, and now he has wowed me once more with The Flavor Equation. Sharma trained as a molecular geneticist before embarking on a culinary career and he brings those two fields together in this fantastic book on kitchen science. Sharma’s stunning photographs and his enticing recipes and fascinating text make this an irresistible choice for fans of Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat (who isn’t?!) or anyone interested in understanding how delicious food is created. — S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Flavor Equation: The Science of Great Cooking Explained in More Than 100 Essential Recipes Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781452182698
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - October 27th, 2020

Red Sands by Caroline Eden

Caroline Eden has followed up her award- winning book Black Sea (which featured Odessa, Istanbul, and Trabzon) with another excellent travelogue with recipes, Red Sands. Venturing into Central Asia (Kazakstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan), Eden traverses mountains, sand dunes, and cities, and writes of the people, history, and culinary culture of the region. I love learning about a new-to-me part of the world through its food, and Eden is an excellent guide. Her captivating prose is matched by the book’s exquisite photography. — S.B.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Red Sands: Reportage and Recipes through Central Asia, from Hinterland to Heartland Cover Image
$37.00
ISBN: 9781787134829
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Quadrille Publishing - November 17th, 2020

Modern Comfort Food: A Barefoot Contessa Cookbook by Ina Garten

The incomparable Ina Garten has a new collection of comfort food recipes that arrives just when we need it the most. Who wouldn’t feel better with a slice of Tomato & Goat Cheese Crostata (it’s excellent!), a serving of Maple-Roasted Acorn Squash, or a bowlful of Creamy Tomato Bisque? “Food has an almost magical ability to comfort us, soothe us, and bring us together,” she writes. Thankfully, Ina Garten continues to show us the way.  — S.B. 

Staff Pick Badge
Modern Comfort Food: A Barefoot Contessa Cookbook Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780804187060
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter - October 6th, 2020

The Rise: Black Cooks and the Soul of American Food by Marcus Samuelsson, with Osayi Endolyn

“Black food is not just one thing. It is an energy. A force.”

In The Rise, Samuelsson honors and explores Black foodways in a unique and powerful way—by weaving discussions about history and culture with recipes created in honor of Black chefs and people he admires. (A profile on New Orleans legend Leah Chase, for example, is followed by a recipe inspired by her gumbo.) The Rise is a joyous celebration of the breadth, depth, and diversity of Black cooks, where everyone’s invited. Don’t miss this fantastic book! — S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
The Rise: Black Cooks and the Soul of American Food: A Cookbook Cover Image
$38.00
ISBN: 9780316480680
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Voracious - October 27th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - S.B.'s Reviews