User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Noreen's Reviews

What Will You Be? Written by Yamile Saied Méndez Illustrated by Kate Alizadeh

Available in English & Spanish

A child whimsically wonders what she will be when she grows up. Her abuela points to the child’s heart and says, “Listen.” With that, Abuela, a painter and storyteller, takes the child’s hand and leads her to herself. I want every child to have an abuela who hands them a paintbrush so they can “discover the way colors come alive on a blank canvas, just for me.” A simple but soulful story, with sparkling illustrations. Made me feel good. — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
What Will You Be? Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062839954
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - May 4th, 2021

Agent 9: Flood-A-Geddon! by James Burks

Feline hero Agent 9 of the Super-Secret Spy Service is on a mission to keep the world safe from maniacal villains. King Crab has a diabolical plan to melt the polar ice cap and build a massive water park. Can Agent 9 save the day? Lots of fast action, humor, and suspense. Readers who like Baby Mouse or Mighty Robot should give this book a try. —Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Agent 9: Flood-a-Geddon! Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780593202968
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Razorbill - March 16th, 2021

The Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

Babita knew that one day she, Papi, and Mami would fly to El Norte like the cranes, then “bad men could not harm them, and Abuelita would not worry.” Years later in the US, Papi is swept up in an ICE raid. When Babita and Mami are held in detention, Babita uses her picture stories to help her family find one another. This powerful novel in verse is affirming for immigrant children and those wanting to grow their worldview.  — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
The Land of the Cranes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Written by Jason Reynolds Illustrated by Danica Novgorodoff

Fifteen-year-old Will gets on the elevator with a gun in his waistband. On his 60-second journey to the lobby, Will has “the Rules” in mind: No crying, no snitching, and get revenge. Who he meets on the elevator will help determine what Will does when he hits the lobby. This graphic novelization of the award-winning novel in verse chronicling one Black boy’s dilemma will grab you and not let go. A great choice for middle-grade to adult readers. — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534444959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 13th, 2020

Becoming Muhammad Ali Written by James Patterson & Kwame Alexander Illustrated by Dawud Anyabwile

“Boxing was his way out and his way up.” This biographical novel focuses on the early years of the famous boxer Cassius Clay, later known as Muhammad Ali. The story is told in prose by Cassius’s “best friend” Lucky and supported by the boxer’s own voice in poetic form. Strong family values, Black pride, and the determination to never give up are all themes effectively displayed. Sensitive and fast-paced, this book is engaging for even the most reluctant reader. — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Becoming Muhammad Ali Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316498166
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Jimmy Patterson - October 5th, 2020

The Land of the Cranes by Aida Salazar

Babita knew that one day she, Papi, and Mami would fly to El Norte like the cranes, then “bad men could not harm them, and Abuelita would not worry.” Years later in the US, Papi is swept up in an ICE raid. When Babita and Mami are held in detention, Babita uses her picture stories to help her family find one another. This powerful novel in verse is affirming for immigrant children and those wanting to grow their worldview.  
— Noreen
 

Staff Pick Badge
The Land of the Cranes Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338343809
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - September 15th, 2020

Sugar in Milk Written by Thrity Umrigar Illustrated by Khoa Le

A young immigrant girl arrives in the home of her aunt and uncle in the States, where everything she experiences, including the language, is unfamiliar. Bereft of her culture and homeland, the girl listens as her aunt recounts a Persian folktale about a king who felt he had no room for foreigners until one of them offered sugar for the king’s milk. The story changes the girl’s perspective as she realizes that kindness toward others changes everything. A beautiful book! — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Sugar in Milk Cover Image
By Thrity Umrigar, Khoa Le (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780762495191
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Running Press Kids - October 6th, 2020

I Am Every Good Thing By Derrick Barnes

With a beautiful spirit, the Black boys in this stunning picture book declare their truth: they are a myriad of good things. The Caldecott medal-winning team of Derrick Barnes and Gordon C. James creates a perfect harmony of poetic words and lively illustrations that show the breadth of creativity, talent, curiosity, bravery, and hope in each child. A timely message of Black Lives Matter, these boys declare to readers: “I am worthy to be loved.” Can’t get any clearer than that. —Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
I Am Every Good Thing Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525518778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

Summer of a Thousand Pies by Margaret Dilloway

Cady Bennett is such a cool kid! Landing in the house of two aunts after growing up homeless with her dad in San Diego, Cady uses her strong survival skills to learn to trust adults who will do what they promise. The Great British Baking Show and a thousand pies inspire Cady to save the day. This book is all about feeling that you belong.

Staff Pick Badge
Summer of a Thousand Pies Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062803474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 12th, 2020

Show Me a Sign by Ann Clare LeZotte

What an intriguing book! Deaf and hearing readers alike will love meeting Mary, a 12-year-old deaf girl who lives on Martha’s Vineyard in 1805. The author, herself a deaf librarian, takes us back in history and opens our eyes to the world of the hearing impaired. I’m impressed with the author’s ability to weave themes of cultural pride, intolerance, racism into the story. A great read for the history buff with a growing, compassionate heart.

Staff Pick Badge
Show Me a Sign Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338255812
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - March 3rd, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Noreen's Reviews