User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Molly S.'s Reviews

Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yee

Lora, an occult-obsessed 12-year-old, doesn’t want to grow up. She feels left behind as her friends trade make-believe for makeup. Then she befriends Alexa, a ghost from the ’70s. Lora’s coming-of-age story is quirky and relatable, while Alexa’s is touching and poetic. The drawings are energetic and whimsical, with panels bursting with life and margins decorated with doodles. This magic-infused tale is an excellent choice for readers who loved The Witch Boy, Ghosts, or The Okay Witch. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Séance Tea Party Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

Julián at the Wedding by Jessica Love

Julián is going to a wedding! At this “party for love,” Julián makes a new friend, Marisol, and discovers a fairy house in a willow tree. The stunning closing spread shows Julián and Marisol snoozing under Abuela’s shawl while the beautiful brides dance in the background. In this follow-up to Julián Is a Mermaid, Jessica Love treats us to a wonderland of florals, lace, and pastel finery. Those who adored the Julián picture book debut are sure to enjoy this fanciful romp. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Julián at the Wedding Cover Image
By Jessica Love, Jessica Love (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536212389
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - October 6th, 2020

Ho'onani: Hula Warrior written by Heather Gale illus. by Mika Song

Based on the documentary, A Place in the Middle, this book is an excellent introduction to Hawaiian gender traditions and the Polynesian third gender, Mahu. Watercolors, outlined with bold black ink, beautifully capture Ho‘onani’s strength and determination. Perfect for young readers interested in learning about other cultures, kids or parents questioning the gender binary, and classrooms looking to discuss how different societies conceptualize gender. - Molly S.

Staff Pick Badge
Ho'onani: Hula Warrior Cover Image
By Heather Gale, Mika Song (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780735264496
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tundra Books - October 1st, 2019

Sunny Day: A Celebration of the Sesame St. Theme Song by Joe Raposo

Bringing together 18 beloved children’s book illustrators, this picture book version of the iconic Sesame Street theme song is the perfect celebration of the show’s 50th anniversary. With such a wide array of visual styles, it welcomes all readers into America’s favorite neighborhood. Kids (and adults!) will love seeing some of Sesame Street’s most popular muppets, drawn in a host of different artistic styles, singing along to the familiar tune in this walk down memory lane. - Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Sunny Day: A Celebration of the Sesame Street Theme Song Cover Image
By Joe Raposo (Lyrics by), Various (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984848185
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - October 22nd, 2019

Common Threads: Adam's Day at the Market written by Huda Essa, illus. by Mercè Tous

During a trip to the market, Adam is separated from his parents and mistakes adults in a variety of cultural and religious garb for them. With minimal text, the pictures are given the story-telling power here, making this a great choice for younger readers, or as a jumping-off point for conversations about diversity. Backmatter explains the concept of clothing with religious and/or cultural significance and encourages readers to learn about other cultures and practice kindness and respect for all people. - Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Common Threads: Adam's Day at the Market Cover Image
By Huda Essa, Merc Tous (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534110106
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sleeping Bear Press - August 15th, 2019

Octopus Stew written and illus. by Eric Velasquez

Hilarity ensues when Ramsey and his Grandma battle a giant octopus that was supposed to be dinner. The representation of their Afro-Latinx family is warm and spirited and the details—like Ramsey’s tech-fluency and love of superheroes—make this feel like a first-hand account (which is confirmed in the author’s note about the family story the book is based on). Full of expressive faces, action-packed tableus, and a humorous ending, this one makes for an excellent family meal (or bedtime story). - Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Octopus Stew Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780823437542
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Holiday House - September 17th, 2019

Secret of the Ron Mor Skerry by Rosalie K. Fry

This blend of historical fiction and selkie mythology packs a punch even greater than its cinematic adaptation, John Sayles’s film The Secret of Roan Inish. Young Fiona McConville has returned to the small cluster of Scottish islands to stay with her grandparents. When she sees Jamie—her younger brother who was lost at sea years before—alive and running about the abandoned island of Ron Mor, she is determined to reconnect with him. In language both poetic and practical, Fry captures the mystery and magic of the sea and the voice of the Scottish fishing families who call it home. Perfect for fans of Anne of Green Gables or Sarah, Plain and Tall. Ages 8–11. - Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Secret of the Ron Mor Skerry Cover Image
By Rosalie K. Fry, Rosalie K. Fry (Illustrator)
$15.95
ISBN: 9781681371665
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: NYR Children's Collection - October 24th, 2017

Quicksilver by Stephanie Spinner

To sell this book I always quote the first line: “It’s dark and gloomy, and it smells like dead sheep, but when Zeus says go to Hell, I go.” Ages 12 & up. - Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Quicksilver Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780440238454
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Laurel Leaf - December 12th, 2006

The Mysterious Benedict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart

Given a sinister boarding school, an enigmatic guide (Mr. Benedict), and a team of heroic child prodigies, this bizarre adventure is a true delight. Ages 10 & up. - Molly

Staff Pick Badge
The Mysterious Benedict Society Cover Image
By Trenton Lee Stewart, Carson Ellis (Illustrator)
$9.99
ISBN: 9780316003957
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 1st, 2008

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Molly S.'s Reviews