User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

MJ's Reviews

Magic: A History: From Alchemy to Witchcraft, from the Ice Age to the Present by Chris Gosden

Gosden’s fascination with identity and how it has informed humans throughout time shines through in this new book on the history of magic in human society. Drawing on many examples of its cultural significance, Gosden shows just how big a role magic has played in the development of societies all over the world. Whether he is talking about horoscopes or tattoos, his voice makes a fun read for anyone, from history buffs to the casual reader.  — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Magic: A History: From Alchemy to Witchcraft, from the Ice Age to the Present Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780374200121
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - November 10th, 2020

Dolly Parton, Songteller: My Life in Lyrics by Dolly Parton

Told by the legend herself through songs she has written, Dolly Parton, Songteller gives us a peek into the life of Dolly. Including full-color pictures from the very beginning of her fascinating story, this book is a must-have for any fan of Parton or her work. This season is great for Dolly fans, as She Come By It Natural, a more narrative-form biography by Sarah Smarsh, has also been released, which gives a more in-depth look into the trials and triumphs of this musical powerhouse. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Dolly Parton, Songteller: My Life in Lyrics Cover Image
$50.00
ISBN: 9781797205090
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Chronicle Books - November 17th, 2020

Permission to Feel by Marc Brackett

The term “emotion scientist” may sound made up, but it’s a real and important job in the mental health field. Brackett has held that title for more than 25 years and has given us a book to share what he’s learned over the past two-and-a-half decades. Childhood is a pivotal time for our development, and Brackett has developed RULER, a system that teaches the skills of emotional intelligence, setting children and adults up for healthier relationships to their own emotions and those of others. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Permission to Feel: The Power of Emotional Intelligence to Achieve Well-Being and Success Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250212832
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - August 4th, 2020

Off Grid Life by Foster Huntington

Packing up and living off-grid has always been a fantasy of mine. I like to daydream about the type of house I’d live in, the quiet nature surrounding me, the stars shining bright at night, free of light pollution. Fans of books like Cabin Porn or Huntington’s previous book, Van Life, are sure to love his newest release. With its amazing interiors and exteriors, this full-color peek into enviable lifestyles had my eyes glued to the pages.  — MJ

Off Grid Life: Your Ideal Home in the Middle of Nowhere Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780762497911
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Black Dog & Leventhal - October 27th, 2020

#CassiNova by Lori G. Matthew

Lori Matthew had me laughing in public— exactly what I needed in these stressful times. She completely sucked me in! The characters were almost familiar, like friends I already have. The romance felt real, and I never doubted the motives behind Sam and Alex’s actions. I spent many years so hungry for representation that I’d read anything you threw at me, but I’m happy to say this book set the bar so much higher for me. A flirty, fun romp through Hollywood. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
#cassinova Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781642471656
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bella Books - November 17th, 2020

A World Between by Emily Hashimoto

A charming two-person narrative spanning many years provides us with a story chronicling the often complex structures of women's relationships. How do we define ourselves in relation to one another when the romance is over? What bridges must we cross if those old feelings resurface? Growing up is never easy, and change is inevitable. But sometimes, no matter how much changes, there’s someone with whom you will always feel comfortable. Eleanor and Leena’s ever-transforming relationship is serendipitous and engrossing. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
A World Between Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781936932955
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feminist Press - September 15th, 2020

Food52 Your Do-Anything Kitchen: The Trusty Guide to a Smarter, Tidier, Happier Space by the Editors of Food52

This newest book from Food52 will show you how to have a functioning kitchen anywhere. Are you a college student, working out of a small apartment? Or maybe a “seasoned” kitchen owner, looking for new ways to utilize your space? This book includes inspirational photos that got me into my kitchen, WHILE I was reading it!  — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
FOOD52 Your Do-Anything Kitchen: The Trusty Guide to a Smarter, Tidier, Happier Space (Food52 Works) Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780399581564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - September 1st, 2020

We Are Not Free by Traci Chee

The harrowing truth of the abuse of Japanese American citizens during WWII in the U.S. is an oft-overlooked aspect of Western history. The mass incarceration of citizens believed to be a "threat" to national security in internment camps feels pertinent to our current political climate. While this work is a fictional account of families who were forced to leave Japantown in San Francisco, you can tell Chee (A UCSC alumni!) did her research. Perfect for any historical fiction fan. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
We Are Not Free Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780358131434
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Ikenga by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedii Okorafor is a sci-fi/fantasy powerhouse. I have yet to read a book by her I don't like, including this one. Nnamdi is a twelve-year-old Nigerian boy who inherits superpowers after his father dies, yet has no one to show him how to use them. Will Nnamdi be able to avenge his father's death? Even though I’m not a huge fan of superheroes myself, Okorafor’s writing drew me in. Fans of Rick Riodan or any Rick Riordan Presents authors will love this book! —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Ikenga Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593113523
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

Dark Was the Night: Blind Willie Johnson's Journey to the Stars By Gary Golio

Beautiful watercolors are used in this biographical picture book to tell the story of Blind Willie Johnson, one of the most iconic blues musicians to have ever lived. Using the little information we have on Johnson’s life, author Golio tells his own story to Johnson—leaving the reader feeling as though they have peeked into an intimate conversation describing the impact Johnson’s music would someday have on the world. A truly touching story, perfect for budding musicians. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Dark Was the Night: Blind Willie Johnson's Journey to the Stars Cover Image
By Gary Golio, E.B. Lewis (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524738884
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 25th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MJ's Reviews