User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

MJ's Reviews

Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

Murakami's writing is a dreamscape that floats before your eyes. His tone is calm and steady; no matter what's happening, you can depend on the voice to be matter-of-fact. For those familiar with his work, his Oedipus complex is as predictable as the surrealist nature of the storytelling as we follow multiple POV's through our world and another. - MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Kafka on the Shore (Vintage International) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781400079278
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - January 3rd, 2006

Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest by Suzanne Simard

In this book that will appeal to fans of The Soul of the Octopus and H Is for Hawk, Simard relates her years of experience and her groundbreaking findings on the relationship between belowground fungi and trees. Highlighting the symbiotic nature of the relationship, she shows the surprising amount in common within our own human ties. I love a book that has a woman on a journey, and that’s what this memoir is: part scientific discovery, part personal journey. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Finding the Mother Tree: Discovering the Wisdom of the Forest Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9780525656098
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - May 4th, 2021

The Last True Poets of the Sea by Julia Drake

Available in paperback

This is an exceptional modern retelling of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night. Julia Drake takes the classic story, makes it multigenerational, and resettles the characters in Maine, in this tale that at times is laugh-out-loud funny and at other times made me ugly cry. You’ll fall in love with the complex characters. The writing is lyrical and magical while managing to stay grounded. Great for teens and adults! — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Last True Poets of the Sea Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780759554993
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 15th, 2021

Ophie’s Ghosts by Justina Ireland

Middle-grade historical fiction with a supernatural twist! I love a haunted manor and ghostly friendships, and that’s where we find ourselves with Ophie. It’s 1922 and in order to save for a home of their own, Ophie joins her mother in working at Daffodil Manor. However, not all ghosts are friendly and, like many old homes, this one has secrets within. It may all be more than Ophie bargained for. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Ophie’s Ghosts Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062915894
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 18th, 2021

Faraway Things Written by Dave Eggers

With his storytelling prowess, Dave Eggers creates an instant classic that also includes Kelly Murphy’s expressive and poignant nautical illustrations in watercolor, pencil, and ink. Lucian lives with his mother by the shore; after storms, he likes to search for washed-up treasure, or “faraway things.” This time he finds a cutlass, and while he falls in love with it, he learns how to let go for a brighter future. This story is whimsical and has something to please the entire family. — MJ

Faraway Things Cover Image
By Dave Eggers, Kelly Murphy (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780316492195
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 8th, 2021

We Are What We Eat by Alice Waters

In We Are What We Eat, Alice Waters confronts one of the most pressing issues we face today: fast food culture. From her own experience as a chef, coupled with her work with local farmers, Waters expounds upon the many symptoms of this illness, and suggests an alternative. Aptly named “slow food culture,” the idea of going back to what food was before “fast” was added into the equation is soul nourishing. Michael Pollan fans will definitely enjoy this book. — MJ 

Staff Pick Badge
We Are What We Eat: A Slow Food Manifesto Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525561538
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - June 1st, 2021

An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir by Ursula Pike

This memoir chronicles Pike’s experience working with the Peace Corps in Brazil. Being indigenous herself (a member of the Karuk tribe), she arrived with the confidence that she would immediately find kinship among the indigenous people around her, but found instead that with colonial organizations there is always extra baggage. This book is honest, poignant, and important. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
An Indian Among Los Indígenas: A Native Travel Memoir Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781597145275
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heyday Books - April 6th, 2021

Pastrix: The Cranky, Beautiful Faith of a Sinner & Saint by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Bolz-Weber is anything but conventional. A sober alcoholic Lutheran priest, she founded House For All Sinners & Saints, an LGBT- affirming church that sees everyone as human and deserving of compassion. This updated version of Pastrix, with added content, is a funny and emotional story of her journey. This is for everyone; Bolz-Weber digs down deep to find the importance of community, even with those who may look or live differently from you. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Pastrix: The Cranky, Beautiful Faith of a Sinner & Saint Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781546012443
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Worthy Books - May 18th, 2021

The Essential June Jordan Edited by Jan Heller Levi & Christoph Keller

This wonderfully curated collection of June Jordan’s poetry takes works from every stage of her writing life, including four previously unpublished pieces. Her verse is some of the most important poetry created in the 20th century; every page feels like a privilege, a gift of her talent. I appreciate not only the selection but the flow of the book. There is a rhythm to the order of the poems. Every aspect in here feels intentional. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Essential June Jordan Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781556596209
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Copper Canyon Press - May 4th, 2021

Sorrowland by Rivers Solomon

Solomon’s writing does something to me that I ironically can’t explain in words. Whether the setting is space, the open ocean, or the forest, their writing examines the human condition, with a focus on race, gender, and sexuality, through the lens of fantasy and science fiction. It always feels fresh; everything about the stories is alien and yet all too familiar. I don’t have a lot to say, but Sorrowland gave me a lot to feel. And I think that’s important. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Sorrowland: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374266776
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: MCD - May 4th, 2021

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MJ's Reviews