User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

MJ's Reviews

Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

An atmospheric, dark fantasy surrounding new and ancient religions and the intersection of science and faith, told from multiple perspectives. A haunting and at times violent exploration of trust, love, and authority. Fans of Rebecca Roanhorse, rejoice with me! One of my favorite books, period. — MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781534437678
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - October 13th, 2020

The Forests of California & The California Field Atlas: Deluxe Edition by Obi Kaufmann

Rejoice, fans of Obi Kaufmann! We are getting two new publications from this talented naturalist: a deluxe edition of The California Field Atlas (larger hardcover format) and a new book focusing specifically on the powerful forests of California. With Kaufmann’s signature watercolor illustrations, The Forests of California explores the massive biodiversity found in the hundreds of tree species in our magnificent state. It is a gorgeous must-have for the nature lover in your life. — MJ

The Forests of California: A California Field Atlas Cover Image
$55.00
ISBN: 9781597144797
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heyday Books - September 8th, 2020

Tales from the Ant World by Edward O. Wilson

If you have a relationship with ants (be it positive or war-based), you should read this new book by noted biologist and naturalist Edward O. Wilson. It is an accessible exploration of the world of these six-legged powerhouses. At worst, you’ll have a lot of cool facts to impress your friends with. Or you just might come out with a newfound appreciation of the wonderful world of Formicidae! — MJ

Tales from the Ant World Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781631495564
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright - August 25th, 2020

Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge, and the Teaching of Plants, Special Edition by Robin Wall Kimmerer

You probably don’t need me to tell you how good Braiding Sweetgrass is. It is a weaving of science, spirituality, and indigenous wisdom, and a lesson in botany that every human needs to read. This new classic is now available in a special edition with a stunning linen hardcover, five illustrations, a bookmark ribbon, and a new introduction by the author. A great gift for anyone who loved Braiding Sweetgrass and wants a special copy to read again and again. — MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
Braiding Sweetgrass: Indigenous Wisdom, Scientific Knowledge and the Teachings of Plants Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781571311771
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Milkweed Editions - October 13th, 2020

Magic: A History: From Alchemy to Witchcraft, from the Ice Age to the Present by Chris Gosden

Gosden’s fascination with identity and how it has informed humans throughout time shines through in this new book on the history of magic in human society. Drawing on many examples of its cultural significance, Gosden shows just how big a role magic has played in the development of societies all over the world. Whether he is talking about horoscopes or tattoos, his voice makes a fun read for anyone, from history buffs to the casual reader.  — MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
Magic: A History: From Alchemy to Witchcraft, from the Ice Age to the Present Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780374200121
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - November 10th, 2020

Dolly Parton, Songteller: My Life in Lyrics by Dolly Parton

Told by the legend herself through songs she has written, Dolly Parton, Songteller gives us a peek into the life of Dolly. Including full-color pictures from the very beginning of her fascinating story, this book is a must-have for any fan of Parton or her work. This season is great for Dolly fans, as She Come By It Natural, a more narrative-form biography by Sarah Smarsh, has also been released, which gives a more in-depth look into the trials and triumphs of this musical powerhouse. — MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
Dolly Parton, Songteller: My Life in Lyrics Cover Image
$50.00
ISBN: 9781797205090
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Chronicle Books - November 17th, 2020

Permission to Feel by Marc Brackett

The term “emotion scientist” may sound made up, but it’s a real and important job in the mental health field. Brackett has held that title for more than 25 years and has given us a book to share what he’s learned over the past two-and-a-half decades. Childhood is a pivotal time for our development, and Brackett has developed RULER, a system that teaches the skills of emotional intelligence, setting children and adults up for healthier relationships to their own emotions and those of others. — MJ

Permission to Feel: The Power of Emotional Intelligence to Achieve Well-Being and Success Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250212832
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Celadon Books - August 4th, 2020

Off Grid Life by Foster Huntington

Packing up and living off-grid has always been a fantasy of mine. I like to daydream about the type of house I’d live in, the quiet nature surrounding me, the stars shining bright at night, free of light pollution. Fans of books like Cabin Porn or Huntington’s previous book, Van Life, are sure to love his newest release. With its amazing interiors and exteriors, this full-color peek into enviable lifestyles had my eyes glued to the pages.  — MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
Off Grid Life: Your Ideal Home in the Middle of Nowhere Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780762497911
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Black Dog & Leventhal - October 27th, 2020

#CassiNova by Lori G. Matthew

Lori Matthew had me laughing in public— exactly what I needed in these stressful times. She completely sucked me in! The characters were almost familiar, like friends I already have. The romance felt real, and I never doubted the motives behind Sam and Alex’s actions. I spent many years so hungry for representation that I’d read anything you threw at me, but I’m happy to say this book set the bar so much higher for me. A flirty, fun romp through Hollywood. — MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
#cassinova Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781642471656
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bella Books - November 17th, 2020

A World Between by Emily Hashimoto

A charming two-person narrative spanning many years provides us with a story chronicling the often complex structures of women's relationships. How do we define ourselves in relation to one another when the romance is over? What bridges must we cross if those old feelings resurface? Growing up is never easy, and change is inevitable. But sometimes, no matter how much changes, there’s someone with whom you will always feel comfortable. Eleanor and Leena’s ever-transforming relationship is serendipitous and engrossing. — MJ

Pre-Order Now Badge
A World Between Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781936932955
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Feminist Press - September 15th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MJ's Reviews