User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Nonfiction Favorites

A rotating selection of some of our staff's favorite titles. New reviews added quarterly.

Deep Creek by Pam Houston

It takes a certain kind of person - animal-lover, star-gazer, adventure seeker - to thrive while living at 9,000 feet. Pam Houston’s full heart and indomitable spirit are on full display in this memoir, which contains all the meditative and hopeful vignettes fans of Houston have come to expect. A great choice for fans of Cheryl Strayed and Terry Tempest Williams! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Deep Creek: Finding Hope in the High Country Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780393241020
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - January 29th, 2019

The Red Parts by Maggie Nelson

The stunning follow up to her 2005 memoir in verse, Jane, this book's form is what makes it so powerful. Part true crime, part memoir, The Red Parts is most interesting when the moving personal story of grief at its core becomes a cultural critique of America's obsession with violence against women. - Kristi

Staff Pick Badge
The Red Parts: Autobiography of a Trial Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781555977368
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - April 5th, 2016

The Sentient Machine by Amir Husain

A great introduction to Artificial Intelligence, deep learning, neural networks and machine learning. Hussain is a well-known AI technologist and entrepreneur. He presents a comprehensive view of the potential benefits and dangers of AI in a well written and easy to understand format. Recommended for anyone interested in what is coming in this field a few years down the road. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
The Sentient Machine: The Coming Age of Artificial Intelligence Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501144684
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - November 6th, 2018

Call Them by Their True Names by Rebecca Solnit

The vision of a better future doesn’t have to deny the crimes and sufferings of the present; it matters because of them.” Solnit covers topics from the gentrification of San Francisco to the horror of the 2016 election. I was kicked in the teeth with every sentence, but it also reverberated in my brain that even though we have miles to go, there are others to help us on the journey. - Karena

Staff Pick Badge
Call Them by Their True Names: American Crises (and Essays) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781608469468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Haymarket Books - September 4th, 2018

By the Smoke and the Smell by Thad Vogler

Vogler travels the world for the finest spirits and dives into the history and make-up of our modern alcohol industry to uncover what can be found in the authentically produced. Along the way he shares funny and touching stories about his adventures, family, and friends. Part travelogue, part memoir, part food writing, part activism, this book is all beautiful, and entertaining. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
By the Smoke and the Smell: My Search for the Rare and Sublime on the Spirits Trail Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780399578601
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Ten Speed Press - September 12th, 2017

Upstream by Mary Oliver

A gorgeous collection of autobiographical essays on Oliver's curiosity for her environment and the great writers who kept her company throughout her life. Her vivid descriptions of the natural world are stunning, reminding one to notice and find awe in our surroundings. Few pages were left without folds or underlines and many parts have seldom left my mind. - Natalie O.

Staff Pick Badge
Upstream: Selected Essays Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781594206702
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - October 11th, 2016

Brothers of the Gun by Marwan Hisham & Molly Crabapple

From young Arab Spring protester in 2011 to war journalist in Raqqa at the height of the Syrian War. This vivid coming-of-age tale of Hisham and his two childhood friends' wildly different paths paints a complicated picture of the breadth of experiences and factors at play in the conflict. Crabapple’s illustrations brings alive the people and emotions on the ground in Syria. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Brothers of the Gun: A Memoir of the Syrian War Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780399590627
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: One World - May 15th, 2018

Dirty River by Leah Lakshmi Piepzna-Samarasinha

I experienced every emotion I’ve ever experienced, plus maybe one or two new ones, while reading this book. “Dirty River” is about a queer, disabled, woman of color building community, facing her trauma, and building a better life for herself. A clever voice and an incredible life makes for a great read. - Wren

Staff Pick Badge
Dirty River: A Queer Femme of Color Dreaming Her Way Home Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9781551526003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arsenal Pulp Press - November 3rd, 2015

Ninth Street Women by Mary Gabriel

Reading this book feels like a vindication; long overlooked, the women of abstract expressionism are revealed not just as muses and supporting players, but the founders of a movement. Don't let the size intimidate you; Gabriel's use of interviews and firsthand accounts takes what could be a dense tome down to a personal scale that feels intimate to read despite its scope. - Katherine

Let's Go (So We Can Get Back) by Jeff Tweedy

It comes as no surprise that one of the most unique songwriters and best lyricists of the past twenty years is also a damn fine prose writer. Tweedy's book detailing his formative years in the seminal punk-country-folk band Uncle Tupelo and the formation and history of Wilco (one of my favorite bands ever) is funny, sad and deeply honest. For music fans, this is absolutely essential. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Let's Go (So We Can Get Back): A Memoir of Recording and Discording with Wilco, Etc. Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781101985267
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton - November 13th, 2018

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Staff Nonfiction Favorites