User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Fiction Favorites

A rotating selection of some of our staff's favorite titles. New reviews added quarterly.

The Paragon Hotel by Lyndsay Faye

Faye builds an incredibly vivid, diverse, vibrant world of Prohibition Era America. Alice “Nobody” James picks her way between danger and friendship, prejudice and love, with intrigue before and behind her. Pick this one up for the history, the mystery, the slang and the love stories. Stay for a wonderful, wild ride, and characters you can’t help but adore. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Paragon Hotel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780735210752
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 8th, 2019

Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Prismatic light forms the basis of magic and government in this twisty conspiracy saga. Weeks absolutely raises the bar for the genre with the depth and uniqueness of the Lightbringer magic system and world building. He is a master of character and the diverse protagonists expand the story with nuance and heart. Great for fans of Rothfuss, Sanderson, or Abercrombie. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
The Black Prism (Lightbringer #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316246279
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - July 23rd, 2013

There But For The by Ali Smith

A guest at a dinner party disappears and locks himself - indefinitely - in the guest room, kicking off a media frenzy that brings together a bunch of lovable outcasts. Smith writes from a place of deep empathy, infusing each page with electric energy and witty wordplay. Reading this book rekindled my fondness for humanity. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
There But For The: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307275240
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 24th, 2012

French Exit by Patrick deWitt

Imbued with Dewitt’s oddball sensibility, this strange little book tells the story of an extremely wealthy (but growing poorer by the day) widow and her adult son who both absolutely positively refuse to worry about their increasingly precarious finances. Weird in the extreme, they’re sarcastic, rude, dismissive—and still strangely entertaining. An enjoyable romp. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
French Exit: A Novel Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9780062846921
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - August 28th, 2018

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

Reading this book is like standing near the sea at night, a familiar place somehow full of mystery and possibility. Stiefvater writes beautifully to create a modern fairy tale world, with human problems for which there are no magic answers. Sean and Puck each race against time, poverty and heartbreak to find their fortunes. I hungrily devoured this. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
The Scorpio Races Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545224918
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Paperbacks - April 1st, 2013

Ultraluminous by Katherine Faw

Meet K, a heroin-addicted high-end prostitute who loves drugstore sushi. Staccato-like vignettes take us through a year in her life. The writing is sparse and brutal, sexy and repellent. The story is riveting and hypnotic, making it impossible to look away. This novel is not for everyone but I think it's remarkable. The conclusion left me speechless and lingered in my thoughts for days. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Ultraluminous: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250192738
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - December 4th, 2018

Jitterbug Perfume by Tom Robbins

Following characters from Paris, New Orleans and Seattle, Robbins creates a complex and hilarious work of magical realism. Shifting between past and present, our story begins with King Alobar as he defies death and aging in search of eternal life. The story's whimsical nature and Robbins’s quirky wisdom will delight and astound you. - Natalie O.

Staff Pick Badge
Jitterbug Perfume: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780553348989
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bantam - April 1st, 1990

Disobedience by Naomi Alderman

Sexuality, loyalty, and authenticity war in the lives of Alderman's characters. Upon her father's death, Ronit crosses the Atlantic to return to the Orthodox Jewish community (and woman) she left behind. Alderman is as deft with midrash as she is with pop culture and sensuality. This is interpersonal London fiction in the vein of Zadie Smith. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Disobedience: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781501199660
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Touchstone - March 6th, 2018

Milkman by Anna Burns

Set in Northern Ireland at the height of the Troubles, Milkman confronts the absurdity of political strife and arbitrary borders, never ignoring the extreme violence and heartbreak that can arise from such divisions. Burns’ voice is dryly humorous, even as her narrator struggles with a stalker, harassment, and a war-torn home. - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Milkman: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450000
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - December 4th, 2018

The First Bad Man by Miranda July

Hilarious and poignant, the fascinating novel brings us into the strange world of Cheryl Glickman, whose awkward, anxiety-fueled tendencies make us cringe in discomfort--or from the realization that we see ourselves in her thoughts and behaviors. The prose is smart and evocative, leaving the reader with new insights about what it means to love and be loved. - Kristi

Staff Pick Badge
The First Bad Man: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781439172575
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - September 8th, 2015

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Staff Fiction Favorites