User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Staff Fiction Favorites

A rotating selection of some of our staff's favorite titles. New reviews added quarterly.

The Pisces by Melissa Broder

This delightful, deeply funny, and raw story is the perfect read if you're looking for something that's wholly original. It's like an MFA Shape of Water with an R rating—you'll be completely lured in by the dazzling descriptions of Venice Beach and the erotic encounters of our narrator-in-crisis. Perfect to read with friends! - Kelly

Staff Pick Badge
The Pisces: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781524761561
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hogarth - February 5th, 2019

Any Man by Amber Tamblyn

This daring debut novel by actress, poet, and activist Amber Tamblyn is a powerful gut-wrenching indictment of sexual violence. A gender role reversal has the effect of immersing the reader into the dark emotional and physical aftermath of sexual assault. Tamblyn's brilliant mix of prose and poetry had me captured from the first page. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
Any Man: A Novel Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062688927
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - June 26th, 2018

Space Battle Lunchtime by Natalie Riess

Part cooking show, part alien abduction story, all adorable. Riess takes 2 storylines that have been done to death and smashes them together to bring new life to them both. The art is colorful and charming without being garish, and each character (human and not) are interesting and exciting. A great read for all ages! - J

Staff Pick Badge
Space Battle Lunchtime Vol. 1: Lights, Camera, Snacktion Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781620103135
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Oni Press - October 25th, 2016

Any Human Heart by William Boyd

William Boyd should be as well known as Steinbeck or Dickens. Like them, he does it all: amazing plots, wonderful descriptions and—especially—great characters. Written in the form of journal entries, this book tells the story of an art dealer and sometime-spy whose life is a kind of history of the 20th century. Both intimate and sweeping, this is simply a great old-fashioned read. - Rico

Staff Pick Badge
Any Human Heart (Vintage International) Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781400031009
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vintage - January 6th, 2004

The Book of Laughter and Forgetting by Milan Kundera

Like Kundera, this novel originated in the Czech Republic and migrated to France. Twice translated, this version of Kundera’s first international hit is superior to the original according to the author himself. The seven fantastic yet grounded tales within its pages are told with the skill of a linguistic master, and leave one feeling there might be a little magic in the mundane. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
The Book of Laughter and Forgetting: A Novel (Perennial Classics) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780060932145
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial Modern Classics - April 7th, 1999

Laidlaw by William McIlvanney

A gritty crime novel set in gritty Glasgow, Laidlaw is the book that brought Tartan Noir into existence. As much about gang presence and gang culture as it is about a murderer and his victim, this is a mystery novel for fans of The Wire and The Departed. A psychological and intense detective thriller! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Laidlaw Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781609452018
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - June 3rd, 2014

American Pop by Snowden Wright

This sweeping, gorgeously written novel follows the dynastic Forster family, who in Wright’s telling are the first family in America to invent and popularize soda pop. Wright follows each family member across decades and continents, and they are by turns troubled, ambitious, humorous, heroic, and tragic, but all are written with incredible sympathy and humanity. I adored it. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
American Pop: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062697745
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - February 5th, 2019

Troubling Love by Elena Ferrante

In case you haven't heard, Ferrante is brilliant and you should read everything she's written. Troubling Love is a whirlwind mystery that delves deep into my personal favorite topic, the relationship between a mother and daughter. Ferrante's use of language is unparalleled as she writes of a daughter obsessed with finding out who her mother really was in the days following her death. - Emma

Staff Pick Badge
Troubling Love Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translated by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9781933372167
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - September 1st, 2006

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang

I hesistate to tell you anything about the plot of this book because it absolutely should not work. And yet, it is one of the most touching, charming, and romantic books I've ever read. It’s a neurodiverse, feel-good, feminist rom-com. Take a break from the stress of life and immerse yourself in this smart, sexy fantasy. - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
The Kiss Quotient Cover Image
$15.00
ISBN: 9780451490803
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 5th, 2018

Salt Fish Girl by Larissa Lai

Flipping between 19th century China and a futurist Pacific Northwest, Salt Fish Girl is equal parts ecological dystopia and surrealist queer birth narrative. Magical realism and mythology feed the cyclical, fantastical story of Nu Wa, an immortal shape-shifter. This book is blurry, messy and absolutely riveting! - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Salt Fish Girl Cover Image
$21.95
ISBN: 9780887623820
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Thomas Allen Publishers - June 17th, 2008

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - Staff Fiction Favorites