User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Mystery & Suspense from the 2012 Winter Newsletter

Phantom by Jo Nesbø

Nesbø returns with another explosive mystery starring the tortured, aging former detective Harry Hole, who probably would have gotten along well with Sherlock Holmes. Hole thought he’d escaped his troubles when he fled to Hong Kong, but soon finds himself pulled back to Sweden after the boy he helped raise is accused of murder. This is a great installment in the series, delving into an Oslo drug ring and Harry’s own troubled past.
Reviewed by: 
Flannery
Staff Pick Badge
Phantom: A Harry Hole Novel (9) Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9780307960474
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Knopf - October 2nd, 2012

Falling Glass & The Cold Cold Ground by Adrian McKinty

This fall, not one, but two of McKinty’s terrific crime novels make their way to our shores. Falling Glass follows the Irish tinker (or Payee) Killian as the economic downturn forces him to take a dicey job hunting down the ex-wife and daughters of a shady Irish businessman. Of course things turn out to be a bit more complicated than they first seemed. Michael Forsythe fans will welcome a brief cameo. Not everyone’s going to like the ending, but it absolutely blew me away.

I’ve long wanted McKinty to use the material of his own life growing up in war-torn Northern Ireland, and with The Cold Cold Ground, he more than fulfills my wishes. Sean Duffy is a Roman Catholic cop stationed in a Protestant town where the police have to check under their cars every morning for mercury tilt bombs. Duffy gets assigned a case which may involve a serial killer, but he sometimes must pursue his investigations in full riot gear. Beautifully evocative of a tragic era, often tersely funny, this novel shows McKinty at the top of his game—a very high level indeed.

Reviewed by: 
Seana
Staff Pick Badge
Falling Glass Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781846687839
Availability: Out of Print
Published: Serpent's Tail - October 9th, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
The Cold Cold Ground: A Detective Sean Duffy Novel Cover Image
Email or call for price
ISBN: 9781616147167
Availability: Hard to Find
Published: Seventh Street Books - November 13th, 2012

Talking to the Dead by Harry Bingham

This is a mesmerizing and thrilling novel—perfect for fans of Tana French and Stieg Larsson—that introduces a modern, unforgettable rookie cop whose past is as fascinating and as deadly as the crimes she investigates. “Fans of Larsson’s Lisbeth Salander will cotton to the heroine of British author Bingham’s highly entertaining U.S. debut, Det. Constable Fiona Griffiths, whose social awkwardness and intensity make her unpopular among her fellow officers in Cardiff, Wales.” —Publishers Weekly

Talking to the Dead Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780345533739
Availability: Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability
Published: Delacorte Press - September 25th, 2012

Subscribe to RSS - Mystery & Suspense from the 2012 Winter Newsletter