User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

Simon&Schuster

Legendborn by Tracy Deonn

Tracy Deonn has presented us with a fresh fantasy, the first in a new series. In these pages, readers find a classic story with a modern setting and a vibrant magic system. It’s young adult fiction that will catch the interest of adult readers as well. Nuanced characters take my favorite (but often played out) Arthurian mythology and twist it up into something new, filled with action and, as the publisher says, Southern Black girl magic!
— MJ
 

Staff Pick Badge
Legendborn Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534441606
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - September 15th, 2020

Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Written by Jason Reynolds Illustrated by Danica Novgorodoff

Fifteen-year-old Will gets on the elevator with a gun in his waistband. On his 60-second journey to the lobby, Will has “the Rules” in mind: No crying, no snitching, and get revenge. Who he meets on the elevator will help determine what Will does when he hits the lobby. This graphic novelization of the award-winning novel in verse chronicling one Black boy’s dilemma will grab you and not let go. A great choice for middle-grade to adult readers. — Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
Long Way Down: The Graphic Novel Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781534444959
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum/Caitlyn Dlouhy Books - October 13th, 2020

Crossings Written by Katy S. Duffield Illustrated by Mike Orodán

This one’s for all the animal lovers! Engineers worldwide have created ways to help animals cross to safety in places where human construction infringes on animal habitats. Overpasses, underpasses, rope bridges, tunnels, and more all help animals migrate safely across human structures. Orodán’s art captures the dignity and the adorableness of the animals as well as details of the crossings. I loved traveling the globe and learning about the interesting animals and structures in this fascinating and informative book. — Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
Crossings: Extraordinary Structures for Extraordinary Animals Cover Image
By Katy S. Duffield, Mike Orodán (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534465794
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - October 13th, 2020

Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

An atmospheric, dark fantasy surrounding new and ancient religions and the intersection of science and faith, told from multiple perspectives. A haunting and at times violent exploration of trust, love, and authority. Fans of Rebecca Roanhorse, rejoice with me! One of my favorite books, period. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Black Sun (Between Earth and Sky) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781534437678
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - October 13th, 2020

One by One by Ruth Ware

In this latest offering, Ware employs her winning formula: an isolated setting, a diverse cast of characters, and a narrator with a secret. A company retreat goes horribly awry when an avalanche traps the vacationers in their chalet. Cut off from the rest of the world, their predicament quickly worsens as people start to turn up murdered. It becomes clear that one of the people trapped in the chalet is the killer, and with no clear suspect, the vacationers don’t know who to trust. Ware’s engaging writing and clever plot twists had me on the edge of my seat once again. — Jade

Staff Pick Badge
One by One Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781501188817
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - September 8th, 2020

Is This Anything? by Jerry Seinfeld

Lucky for us, Jerry Seinfeld has been meticulous about saving his written comedy bits over the course of his career and he’s selected his favorites for this generous collection. Organized by the five decades that his time doing Seinfeld and stand-up spans, it treats us to gem after gem of observational humor, as well as inside moments of the life and process of one of our greatest performers. A perfect gift—this book could not come at a better moment. — Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Is This Anything? Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781982112691
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 6th, 2020

Solutions and Other Problems by Allie Brosh

Allie Brosh has returned! Childhood shenanigans, stories of dogs, anecdotes of life’s weirdness abound, and reveal with aching (and hilarious) vulnerability the health crisis, heartbreak, tragedy, depression, grief, and existential ennui that led to her Internet disappearance in 2013. It also goes into the fortitude to survive some of the worst things the world can throw at you, or that you can throw at yourself. Allie Brosh has survived and is finding her way, with a snicker and pencil-drawn cartoons, and will help you survive, too. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Solutions and Other Problems Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781982156947
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery Books - September 22nd, 2020

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman

As the world becomes more anxious and frayed than ever, one of our greatest remedies is to read a Fredrik Backman novel. Backman, through his humor, emotion, and honesty, reminds us that it is precisely the messiness of being human that makes us more connected to each other than we ever think possible. In Anxious People, Backman introduces us to a group of characters who happen to be in the wrong place (hostage situation) at the wrong time (apartment viewing) but whose willingness to listen and connect to each other turn everything right. This novel is a balm for the soul. — Casey

Staff Pick Badge
Anxious People: A Novel Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501160837
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atria Books - September 8th, 2020

Tune It Out by Jamie Sumner

After a car accident, Lou Montgomery's life changes radically: she's removed from her mom's care, placed with her aunt and uncle, and diagnosed with Sensory Processing Disorder. These changes are accompanied by a cast of new and lovable characters, including Lou’s funny, fabulous, theatrical best friend Well. Thought-provoking in its exploration of disability, wealth, and familial relationships, this novel about a young girl's journey of self-discovery and self-acceptance is perfect for fans of So B. It, Out of My Mind, and Counting By 7s. —Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Tune It Out Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534457003
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Women in the Kitchen: Twelve Essential Cookbook Writers Who Defined the Way We Eat, from 1661 to Today by Anne Willan

Many of us have a connection to a particular woman who commanded the kitchen at family gatherings, as well as memories that evoke sounds, smells, tastes, and sights that we try and recreate with our present day families from recipes scrawled on index cards. Anne Willan unpacks the stories of female cookbook writers throughout history and their recipes, methods,and backgrounds that have influenced many aspects of our own kitchen practices today. Women like Fannie Farmer, Irma Rombauer, Julia Child, Edna Lewis, and Marcella Hazan, with all of their notoriety, still had a process of utility, economy, discovery, sometimes failure, and ultimately creation. —Jenny

Staff Pick Badge
Women in the Kitchen: Twelve Essential Cookbook Writers Who Defined the Way We Eat, from 1661 to Today Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781501173318
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner - August 11th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Simon&Schuster