User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

RandomHouse

Séance Tea Party by Reimena Yee

Lora, an occult-obsessed 12-year-old, doesn’t want to grow up. She feels left behind as her friends trade make-believe for makeup. Then she befriends Alexa, a ghost from the ’70s. Lora’s coming-of-age story is quirky and relatable, while Alexa’s is touching and poetic. The drawings are energetic and whimsical, with panels bursting with life and margins decorated with doodles. This magic-infused tale is an excellent choice for readers who loved The Witch Boy, Ghosts, or The Okay Witch. — Molly

Staff Pick Badge
Séance Tea Party Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984894151
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - September 15th, 2020

The Magic Fish by Trung Le Nguyen

This book is a gift. In it, Nguyen offers readers a beautiful tale of immigration and coming out that weaves Vietnamese fairy tales into something magical and deeply moving. The art is nothing short of gorgeous. Being the daughter of immigrants myself, Tiến’s struggle to connect with his refugee parents resonated deeply with me, but this is a story that anyone can sink into and appreciate. I can’t wait to read what Nguyen does next. — Stephanie

Staff Pick Badge
The Magic Fish Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781984851598
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Graphic - October 13th, 2020

The Last Marshmallow by Grace Lin

This cozy counting book by the great Caldecott medalist Grace Lin takes an organic approach to counting by drawing on the example of drinking hot cocoa and marshmallows with a friend. In using everyday objects to introduce mathematical concepts, Lin also gives a great lesson on sharing. It’s a perfect winter read in a new board book series by Lin on math. I just adore it! — MJ

The Last Marshmallow (Storytelling Math) Cover Image
By Grace Lin, Grace Lin (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9781623541262
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Charlesbridge - October 13th, 2020

Magdalena: River of Dreams by Wade Davis

Magdalena: River of Dreams is the story of the Rio Magdalena, the great river at the center of Colombia’s history. Davis uses the river path as the basis for his narrative arc, exploring the natural, cultural, and political history of a complicated country. Amplifying the voices of the people he meets, and with great respect for Colombia and Colombians, Davis is fierce in his desire to tell the full spectrum of the country’s history, far beyond the violence that has beset it.  — Tori

Staff Pick Badge
Magdalena: River of Dreams: A Story of Colombia Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780375410994
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - September 15th, 2020

A Deadly Education by Naomi Novik

Naomi Novik is a literary chameleon and here she slides effortlessly into the magic school genre, making it brilliantly her own. If you like characters defying their tropes, intriguing magic systems, deadly libraries, stories of friendship and staying true to yourself—amidst magical monsters and backstabbing high school cliques—but with just a little more snark and murder, pick this up. I loved this book, and can’t wait to find everyone else who will love it too. 
— Jocelyn
 

Staff Pick Badge
A Deadly Education: A Novel (The Scholomance #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780593128480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - September 29th, 2020

Whale Day: And Other Poems by Billy Collins

Former US poet laureate Billy Collins’s newest collection (his first in 4 years) is a wonderful gathering of poems that shines with its combination of mirth and depth. While the subject of these poems varies, there is an undercurrent of looking at life from the eyes of someone who is aging and holding mortality in view. I was delighted by the humor and wit that Collins juxtaposes with the tender and profound. This is a wonderful, readable book. Collins has once again proven himself, with poems that delight as much as they touch the heart. — S.M.C.

Staff Pick Badge
Whale Day: And Other Poems Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780399589751
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - September 29th, 2020

Finna: Poems by Nate Marshall

More than a carefully stylized collection of poetry, Finna is an embodiment of Nate Marshall’s world, which is family and Chicago; which is language and Black life. With lyrical precision, sweet slang, and cunning rhythm, Marshall acknowledges the violence imposed on Black and Brown bodies; the cultural elements that promote spiritual fortitude; and the opportunity to embrace the future as a space of beautiful possibility. His work is a testament to the people who have inspired it, and as Marshall writes, “our people deserve / poetry without meter. we deserve our / own jagged rhythm & our own uneven / walk towards sun.” These poems demand mourning, deep reckoning, and wonderful celebration. Read them. — Juj

Staff Pick Badge
Finna: Poems Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780593132456
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: One World - August 11th, 2020

Oak Flat: A Fight for Sacred Land in the American West by Lauren Redniss

In this richly illustrated work of visual nonfiction, Redniss bears witness to the years’-long fight of San Carlos Apache tribal members to protect Oak Flat, their sacred land, from Resolution Copper, a multinational mining conglomerate. Within this narrative lie many others, the oral history of three generations of an Apache family, the history of the land itself, the effects of copper mining, its promise to a mining family nearby— this reporting, illuminating, and understanding are Redniss’s true genius, unfolding a powerful, complex story, one that is still in play. — Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Oak Flat: A Fight for Sacred Land in the American West Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780399589720
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House - November 17th, 2020

The Kingdom by Jo Nesbø

Jo Nesbø knows how to write a good mystery. His reputation as the master of Norwegian crime is upheld in this standalone novel about the reunion of two brothers. What I enjoyed about this book is that each character has a unique weakness—what the Greeks would call hamartia—that defines their fate. While older brother Roy is responsible yet unsociable, younger, more personable Carl is reckless in a way that is both heartrending and endearing. Despite the brothers’ determination to create a promising future for themselves and their town, their flaws and murky past render their dreams all but impossible. The tension is palpable, with secrets and lies in this tale that is both clever and dark. — K.L.

Staff Pick Badge
The Kingdom: A novel Cover Image
By Jo Nesbo, Robert Ferguson (Translated by)
$28.95
ISBN: 9780525655411
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf - November 10th, 2020

Love and Rage: The Path of Liberation Through Anger by Lama Rod Owens

There is a healthy way to be angry at Trump and white supremacy. In this profound and helpful book, a queer Black Buddhist teacher wrestles with his own rage. He teaches us how spiritual practice and vigilant activism can be interwoven. He does not teach us to bypass anger, but instead to use it as a tool. This is the book on social justice and mindfulness we have been waiting for. I cannot recommend it highly enough. — Jason 

Staff Pick Badge
Love and Rage: The Path of Liberation through Anger Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781623174095
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: North Atlantic Books - June 16th, 2020

Pages

Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!

Subscribe to RSS - RandomHouse