User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Penguin

The Searcher by Tana French

A slow-burning, tense, character-driven thriller from one of the most brilliant writers of our time. French is fantastic at setting the claustrophobic, surveillant atmosphere of rural Ireland, where everyone knows one another and seemingly nothing ever happens. Through her words, we see the world from the perspective of retired cop Cal, who immigrated from Chicago to look for peace only to find trouble knocking on the door of his dilapidated cottage. A must-read for lovers of literary mysteries and small-town secrets. — Ksenia

Staff Pick Badge
The Searcher: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735224650
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking - October 6th, 2020

Memorial by Bryan Washington

Benson’s boyfriend Mike goes to Japan and leaves his mother, who barely speaks English, in his stead. While Mike is in Osaka working as a bartender for his dying father, Benson works through his own family trauma. This is the debut novel by a rising literary star, the author of last year’s breakout short story collection, Lot. Fans of There There and On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous will devour this meditation on love and loss. — Jason

Staff Pick Badge
Memorial: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593087275
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 27th, 2020

ArtCurious: Stories of the Unexpected, Slightly Odd, and Strangely Wonderful in Art History by Jennifer Dasal

Urinals, anthropomorphic instruments from hell, Jack the Ripper’s art career, museum heists, Andy Warhol’s 610 time capsules, and Monet’s cataracts—oh, my! From cover to cover, ArtCurious is a delightful dive into the quirky lore and contentious tales of art history. It’s all the mesmerizing bits that my college courses left out. Dasal, with her robust background in art curation and podcasting, debunks the myth that art history is boring, and her writing is approachable for budding and experienced art historians alike. — Charlotte
 

Staff Pick Badge
ArtCurious: Stories of the Unexpected, Slightly Odd, and Strangely Wonderful in Art History Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143134596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 15th, 2020

Ikenga by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedii Okorafor is a sci-fi/fantasy powerhouse. I have yet to read a book by her I don't like, including this one. Nnamdi is a twelve-year-old Nigerian boy who inherits superpowers after his father dies, yet has no one to show him how to use them. Will Nnamdi be able to avenge his father's death? Even though I’m not a huge fan of superheroes myself, Okorafor’s writing drew me in. Fans of Rick Riodan or any Rick Riordan Presents authors will love this book! —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Ikenga Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593113523
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

I Am Every Good Thing By Derrick Barnes

With a beautiful spirit, the Black boys in this stunning picture book declare their truth: they are a myriad of good things. The Caldecott medal-winning team of Derrick Barnes and Gordon C. James creates a perfect harmony of poetic words and lively illustrations that show the breadth of creativity, talent, curiosity, bravery, and hope in each child. A timely message of Black Lives Matter, these boys declare to readers: “I am worthy to be loved.” Can’t get any clearer than that. —Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
I Am Every Good Thing Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525518778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

Jabari Tries by Gaia Cornwall

Jabari’s back! After conquering the diving board, Jabari focuses on flight next. The art is fun and expressive as it chronicles each attempt through which he learns something new and builds on his knowledge. My favorite part, however, is Jabari’s supportive family as he struggles: a great reminder that success comes with mishaps and the loving belief of those around us. This is the perfect book for fans of Rosie Revere and anyone looking for a little inspiration. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Jabari Tries Cover Image
By Gaia Cornwall, Gaia Cornwall (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536207163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 8th, 2020

The Ocean Calls: A Haenyeo Mermaid Story By Tina Cho

The line work! The colors! While the drawings in this story would be enough, we are also gifted an inspiring story of a young girl facing her fears. She begins learning from her grandmother, a haenyeo, which translates from Korean to English as “sea women”: a tradition of iron-willed women who deep-sea dive for a living in the Jeju province in Korea. This book is perfect for sea lovers or anyone looking for courage in their own lives. —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
The Ocean Calls: A Haenyeo Mermaid Story Cover Image
By Tina Cho, Jess X. Snow (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781984814869
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kokila - August 4th, 2020

Our Lady of Perpetual Hunger: A Memoir by Lisa Donovan

Award-winning southern pastry chef Lisa Donovan earned wide praise for her talents, but still struggled to make a living in an industry dominated by men (whose careers were very often built on the culinary contributions of female cooks and cooks of color). In her fantastic memoir, she follows the advice of culinary icon Diana Kennedy who once told her to “stop letting men tell your story,” and tells her own. With passion and pragmatism (and a good bit of humor), she writes about her career, mixed-race heritage, experiences with abuse, and making a life. An empowering read.  —S.B.

Staff Pick Badge
Our Lady of Perpetual Hunger: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525560944
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Press - August 4th, 2020

Know My Name: A Memoir by Chanel Miller

Chanel Miller doesn’t remember being sexually assaulted by Brock Turner because she was unconscious at the time. She does, however, remember all that ensued in the aftermath and in Know My Name she recounts every eviscerating detail. Miller’s story is deeply personal, but it is not unique. She writes beautifully and courageously about the ugly processes that follow her assault: medical exams, trials, therapy, and the struggle she faces to simply get through each day. Constantly barraged with the repercussions of her assault, Miller is unable to forget an event she doesn’t even remember. In revealing her identity—she was previously referred to simply as “Emily Doe”—Miller owns her narrative and proves that victimhood does not make a person powerless.  —Jade

Staff Pick Badge
Know My Name: A Memoir Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9780735223721
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - August 18th, 2020

A Cosmology of Monsters by Shaun Hamill

Strap in, kids, this one is a wild ride. With a slow-burn horror, Lovecraftian beginning, you won't be able to put this one down. Part family drama, part spine tingling spookiness, the Turner family and their woes will make any horror fan happy. —Jae

Staff Pick Badge
A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780525563921
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage - August 4th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Penguin