User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Penguin

One Life by Megan Rapinoe

After US soccer star Megan Rapinoe’s game-winning goals in the 2019 Women’s World Cup captivated the world, Rapinoe has gone on to engage women (and men) everywhere with her brilliant leadership in promoting equal pay, racial justice, and LGBTQ+ rights, and through her straight talk to President Trump on an international stage. Now, in her memoir One Life, she chronicles how her conservative California upbringing, her role as the first woman soccer player to come out, and the internal reckoning that called her to take action for equality allowed her to fully use her place at the center of the world’s stage as a force for good. A perfect gift for every strong person in your life. — Casey 

Pre-Order Now Badge
One Life Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984881168
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Press - November 10th, 2020

Still Running: The Art of Meditation in Motion by Vanessa Zuisei Goddard

Still Running takes us on a "moving meditation." Combining decades of experience as a runner and Zen practitioner and teacher, Goddard blends the arts of moving and stillness and encourages us to become closer while traveling farther. A guidebook for starting or continuing your running practice with a renewed beginner's body, mind, and spirit...gentle enough even for those of us who struggle most. — Kalina

Still Running: The Art of Meditation in Motion Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781611808193
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Shambhala - August 11th, 2020

Nose Dive by Harold McGee

McGee, author of the culinary science classic On Food and Cooking, explores the world of smell in his new book, Nose Dive. In this sensory-filled adventure, he combines hard science, biology, chemistry, and personal observation, to take readers on an accessible ride through the world of scent—from the everyday (cut grass) to the delightful (vanilla) to the unpleasant (rotten eggs). A great read for fans of Michael Pollan and Bill Bryson or anyone curious about why things smell the way they do. — S.B.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Nose Dive: A Field Guide to the World's Smells Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781594203954
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Penguin Press - October 20th, 2020

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead by Olga Tokarczuk

Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead is a dark, country-noir eco-thriller, written by a Nobel Prize winner and set in a village on the border between Poland and Czech Republic. The protagonist, a retired teacher and an amateur astrologer, has a theory that the deaths of local hunters are caused by animals keen to enact revenge on those who abuse and murder them. But is her theory too far-fetched to be true? Gorgeous, haunting, and unputdownable, I highly recommend it for fans of quieter, stranger mysteries. — Ksenia

Staff Pick Badge
Drive Your Plow Over the Bones of the Dead: A Novel Cover Image
By Olga Tokarczuk, Antonia Lloyd-Jones (Translated by)
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525541349
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Riverhead Books - August 11th, 2020

The Searcher by Tana French

A slow-burning, tense, character-driven thriller from one of the most brilliant writers of our time. French is fantastic at setting the claustrophobic, surveillant atmosphere of rural Ireland, where everyone knows one another and seemingly nothing ever happens. Through her words, we see the world from the perspective of retired cop Cal, who immigrated from Chicago to look for peace only to find trouble knocking on the door of his dilapidated cottage. A must-read for lovers of literary mysteries and small-town secrets. — Ksenia

Pre-Order Now Badge
The Searcher: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780735224650
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Viking - October 6th, 2020

Memorial by Bryan Washington

Benson’s boyfriend Mike goes to Japan and leaves his mother, who barely speaks English, in his stead. While Mike is in Osaka working as a bartender for his dying father, Benson works through his own family trauma. This is the debut novel by a rising literary star, the author of last year’s breakout short story collection, Lot. Fans of There There and On Earth We’re Briefly Gorgeous will devour this meditation on love and loss. — Jason

Pre-Order Now Badge
Memorial: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593087275
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Riverhead Books - October 27th, 2020

ArtCurious: Stories of the Unexpected, Slightly Odd, and Strangely Wonderful in Art History by Jennifer Dasal

Urinals, anthropomorphic instruments from hell, Jack the Ripper’s art career, museum heists, Andy Warhol’s 610 time capsules, and Monet’s cataracts—oh, my! From cover to cover, ArtCurious is a delightful dive into the quirky lore and contentious tales of art history. It’s all the mesmerizing bits that my college courses left out. Dasal, with her robust background in art curation and podcasting, debunks the myth that art history is boring, and her writing is approachable for budding and experienced art historians alike. — Charlotte
 

ArtCurious: Stories of the Unexpected, Slightly Odd, and Strangely Wonderful in Art History Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780143134596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - September 15th, 2020

Ikenga by Nnedi Okorafor

Nnedii Okorafor is a sci-fi/fantasy powerhouse. I have yet to read a book by her I don't like, including this one. Nnamdi is a twelve-year-old Nigerian boy who inherits superpowers after his father dies, yet has no one to show him how to use them. Will Nnamdi be able to avenge his father's death? Even though I’m not a huge fan of superheroes myself, Okorafor’s writing drew me in. Fans of Rick Riodan or any Rick Riordan Presents authors will love this book! —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Ikenga Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780593113523
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - August 18th, 2020

I Am Every Good Thing By Derrick Barnes

With a beautiful spirit, the Black boys in this stunning picture book declare their truth: they are a myriad of good things. The Caldecott medal-winning team of Derrick Barnes and Gordon C. James creates a perfect harmony of poetic words and lively illustrations that show the breadth of creativity, talent, curiosity, bravery, and hope in each child. A timely message of Black Lives Matter, these boys declare to readers: “I am worthy to be loved.” Can’t get any clearer than that. —Noreen

Staff Pick Badge
I Am Every Good Thing Cover Image
By Derrick Barnes, Gordon C. James (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525518778
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - September 1st, 2020

Jabari Tries by Gaia Cornwall

Jabari’s back! After conquering the diving board, Jabari focuses on flight next. The art is fun and expressive as it chronicles each attempt through which he learns something new and builds on his knowledge. My favorite part, however, is Jabari’s supportive family as he struggles: a great reminder that success comes with mishaps and the loving belief of those around us. This is the perfect book for fans of Rosie Revere and anyone looking for a little inspiration. —Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Jabari Tries Cover Image
By Gaia Cornwall, Gaia Cornwall (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781536207163
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Candlewick - September 8th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Penguin