User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

MacMillan

Dominicana by Angie Cruz

A luminous coming-of-age story. Ana, a young Dominican girl forced into marriage on the slim hope it will help bring her family to America, lives a life of cold isolation, confined to her abusive husband’s New York apartment, but when political chaos draws him back to the island and Ana is left behind, a new world opens up beneath her feet, and Ana must choose between duty and desire. - Katherine

Staff Pick Badge
Dominicana: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250205933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books - September 3rd, 2019

Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Gideon the Ninth is as if a liberated, lesbian Bronte sister wrote about necromatic death cult nuns in space, gothic drama and all. That is to say, this book makes dreams come true. Mouthy jock/swordswoman Gideon is pulsingly alive in the center of a mileu of fascinatingly macabre characters. High fantasy world building, brilliant, quick-witted dialogue—you can't ask for a more fresh, visceral, or mind-blowing fantasy debut. Read it! - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Gideon the Ninth (The Locked Tomb Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250313195
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Tordotcom - September 10th, 2019

The Truth Behind the Lie by Susan Lovestam

Everyone’s lying, but which lies are dangerous and which are merely for self-preservation? In Sweden, a woman’s child has gone missing, but she can’t contact the authorities. She hires an Iranian detective who promises discretion. He has secrets of his own, but he also has connections that might help him find her daughter. It’s rare to find a fun, page-turning mystery that also takes on immigration policies and represents the underrepresented, but here it is! - Jess

Staff Pick Badge
The Truth Behind the Lie: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250300072
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Minotaur Books - August 27th, 2019

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

This remarkable debut novel is a richly imagined tale that immerses the reader in a unique culture. Interstellar politics set the stage for a murder mystery, a struggle of assimilation and questions of identity. Fascinating characters, an intricate plot, and a background of stars make this a brilliant space opera. Recommended for fans of Ann Leckie, Yoon Ha Lee and Issac Asimov. - Trey

Staff Pick Badge
A Memory Called Empire (Teixcalaan #1) Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250186430
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Tor Books - March 26th, 2019

Empress of Forever by Max Gladstone

I want to be Vivian Liao when I grow up. Tech genius, revolutionary subversive and chosen by a god, she is at the center of a whirlwind adventure across the galaxy to save space, time and autonomy. I loved the unique, brash characters running around in Gladstone's magic and computer-science-based world. So fun! - Clara

Staff Pick Badge
Empress of Forever: A Novel Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780765395818
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - June 18th, 2019

Amberlough by Lara Elena Donnelly

Amberlough delighted me and broke me and did it all over again. A Jazz-age alternate world of queer spy-vs-spy shenanigans and cat-and-mouse politics, featuring the rise of a conservative facist government in a diverse and throbbingly alive world. Possibly a little too real in our current real-world, but author Lara Elena Donnelly kept me hoping against reason for the characters, even as she broke me down. Fair warning: you will immediately need to pick up the sequel. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Amberlough: Book 1 in the Amberlough Dossier Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780765383822
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - February 13th, 2018

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Elaborate heist? Elaborate magical heist? Elaborate, brilliantly realized world inspired by historical Amsterdam, but filled with living, breathing people with complex histories and personalities, that will come together for the pay-off of their lives – and maybe save the world? I devoured this novel that will satisfy fantasy fans of any age, of six young criminals and misfits who refuse to accept a world that won’t accept them. Trust me – you’ll be glad there’s more. - Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Six of Crows Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781250076960
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - February 6th, 2018

Regarding the Pain of Others by Susan Sontag

Published just three years after 9/11, this is a powerful meditation on the intention behind and consumption of war photography. Sontag explores the necessary act of acknowledging violence while challenging ourselves to respond to it with empathy, not apathy. Today, when acts of mass violence are as common as the hashtags that represent them, this book feels particularly urgent. - Kristi

Staff Pick Badge
Regarding the Pain of Others Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780312422196
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - February 1st, 2004

America Before by Graham Hancock

While many scientists cling to the idea that humans didn’t inhabit the American continents until fairly recently, evidence proving the contrary continues to build. In his latest, unorthodox analysis of human history, Hancock parses this evidence to prove that technologically and socially advanced humans inhabited the Americas for 10,000s of years before European conquest. - Aric

Staff Pick Badge
America Before: The Key to Earth's Lost Civilization Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250153739
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - April 23rd, 2019

3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook by Drew Maresco

I’m usually too busy to make a meal every night, so my slow cooker has become a godsend. Drew Maresco has made my life even easier with this cookbook, with recipes that are both delicious and extremely easy to prepare. This fantastic cookbook is packed with gorgeous, full-page pictures and covers a wide variety of culinary traditions, and includes vegetarian options. - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
3-Step Slow Cooker Cookbook: Delicious, Hassle-Free Homemade Meals Cover Image
$21.99
ISBN: 9781624147234
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Page Street Publishing - January 29th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MacMillan