User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

 Thank you for shopping online! Due to overwhelming support, orders may take 72 hours+ to process. Your patience is appreciated. 

MacMillan

Jack by Marilynne Robinson

Barack Obama’s favorite novelist graces us all once again, this time with Jack, which delves back into the inner lives of the characters Robinson introduced many years ago with Gilead. Jack tells the story of the relationship between ne’er-do-well preacher’s son Jack, and Della, the Black woman he loves, and the complications they face in midcentury America’s racist society. Prepare yourself for the tender, stolid prose that characterizes Robinson’s best work—like a perfectly crafted Arts and Crafts–era table, it’s impossibly elegant in its simplicity. — Jess

Staff Pick Badge
Jack: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374279301
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - September 29th, 2020

Fly on the Wall by Remy Lai

Henry Khoo, who is NOT a baby, is on a mission to prove his independence. His proof? He’s going on a long-distance trip by himself without telling his family. What follows is a series of mishaps worthy of a farce. This graphic novel/prose hybrid is hilarious, fun, and inspiring. I related so much to Henry and was charmed by his successes and mistakes. Great for fans of Jerry Craft’s New Kid and Shannon Hale’s work. — Ivy

Staff Pick Badge
Fly on the Wall Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250314116
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 15th, 2020

When They Call You a Terrorist (Young Adult Edition) Written by Patrisse Khan-Cullors & Asha Bandele Adapted by Benee Knauer

A first-person perspective from one of the founders of the Black Lives Matter movement, this young readers edition is paramount for every child and teen in your life. We are in the midst of a time that will be in future generations’ history books and this memoir will help contemporary children and teens be cognizant of what is going on around them. It provides answers to questions adults may not have the language to address, helping spread understanding and empathy. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
When They Call You a Terrorist (Young Adult Edition): A Story of Black Lives Matter and the Power to Change the World Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250194985
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Wednesday Books - September 29th, 2020

Spirits of San Francisco: Voyages Through the Unknown City Written by Gary Kamiya, Illustrated by Paul Madonna

San Francisco is one of the US cities most alive in the collective public imagination, and Gary Kamiya (Cool Gray City of Love) and Paul Madonna (All Over Coffee) know it well. Now they have come together to illustrate (figuratively and literally) some of the lesser-known true stories from the city’s bones. Taking cues from architecture, locations, and ruins, they guide the reader through a pantheon of characters, economics, and culture from the 18th century on. For aficionados of small bites of history and of the City itself. — Jocelyn

Staff Pick Badge
Spirits of San Francisco: Voyages through the Unknown City Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781635575880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - October 20th, 2020

Guillotine: Poems by Eduardo C. Corral

“How did you make it through those days? / When you’re hurt, you’re not completely in the world.” —Eduardo C. Corral
Guillotine is a mystifying journey between worlds both real and imaginary, where sensation is severe and reason becomes blurred. In Guillotine, Corral has expanded Gloria Anzaldúa’s “borderlands” concept into our present moment, carefully teetering on the small divide between nations, gender identity, sexuality, and realities. Images of desert crossings, bloodied bodies, and dear, untouchable men take shape in bilingual and experimental poetic form. This collection of poems is an essential addition to the developing queer-Latinx imaginary. — Juj

Staff Pick Badge
Guillotine: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450307
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graywolf Press - August 4th, 2020

Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man by Emmanuel Acho

Acho has given us quite a gift, both in the form of his viral hit video series Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man and his new book of the same name, a companion to or a continuation of these vital conversations. Each chapter addresses a key question about race relations, racial injustices, and systemic racism. Acho gives frank, thoughtful answers, provides historical context, encourages further self-examination, and offers steps for moving forward. It is an important, hopeful, necessary antiracist resource. — Melinda

Pre-Order Now Badge
Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250800466
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Flatiron Books: An Oprah Book - November 10th, 2020

Permission to Feel by Marc Brackett

The term “emotion scientist” may sound made up, but it’s a real and important job in the mental health field. Brackett has held that title for more than 25 years and has given us a book to share what he’s learned over the past two-and-a-half decades. Childhood is a pivotal time for our development, and Brackett has developed RULER, a system that teaches the skills of emotional intelligence, setting children and adults up for healthier relationships to their own emotions and those of others. — MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Permission to Feel: The Power of Emotional Intelligence to Achieve Well-Being and Success Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250212832
Availability: Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Celadon Books - August 4th, 2020

The Contradictions by Sophie Yanow

It feels like every college student is trying to find themself and often it’s the failures that become the most meaningful. With Yanow’s expert eye and bold art style, The Contradictions explores the world of the college student trying to find themself and finding that their failures end up being the most meaningful part of their journey. While studying abroad, Sophie falls into a group of anarchists and sees firsthand the struggle and contradictions not just of her new friends but of herself. Yanow has managed to tap into the psyche of youth and come out with some profound insights into the human condition.  — Ivy
 

Staff Pick Badge
The Contradictions Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781770464070
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Drawn and Quarterly - September 8th, 2020

Humans by Brandon Stanton

Brandon Stanton’s Humans of New York online series has been one of my lifelines this tumultuous year, as I’m sure it has been for many. The photos and poignant stories of those featured remind us of our shared humanity. Stanton’s wonderful new book, a collection of hundreds of photographs and stories he gathered from people around the world, continues that mission. With human connection in low supply these days, this book, filled with an abundance of love, hope, and determination, is exactly what I want to immerse myself in. — S.B.
 

Staff Pick Badge
Humans Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781250114297
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - October 6th, 2020

The Eighth Detective by Alex Pavesi

A must-read for Agatha Christie fans! Structured as a series of short stories read and discussed by an editor and a writer, The Eighth Detective is one of the most unique mysteries I’ve ever read. The author of the stories, a reclusive mathematician, has written them to prove the existence of four permutations behind all detective fiction—but there are inconsistencies in his creations that may be pointing to a larger, more sinister mystery that has inspired them. —Ksenia

This book is part of our Fall Reading Challenge. Read more here.

Staff Pick Badge
The Eighth Detective: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250755933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - August 4th, 2020

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - MacMillan