User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Hachette

The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

Three paragraphs were all it took to pull me all the way into this intriguing portal fantasy. The entire book, Alix Harrow’s debut novel, lives up to the promise of its auspicious beginning. Set in the early 1900s, The Ten Thousand Doors of January transports the reader through secret magic openings to places of wonder and mystery. This is a book about books, a story about stories, a tale of courage, love, and family ties across time and space. Imaginative and enchanting!

Staff Pick Badge
The Ten Thousand Doors of January Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316421973
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Redhook - May 12th, 2020

Parasite: A Graphic Novel in Storyboards by Bong Joon Ho

While watching the Oscars, my mom told me not to scream if Parasite won Best Picture. So I just didn't breathe for about 30 seconds. Bong Joon Ho’s movie is a masterpiece of modern filmmaking and a potent, timely commentary on class warfare, no matter the geographic location. Bong mixes genres like a master chef creating a perfect dish, blending thriller, horror, and sociopolitical commentary. I’m so excited to get my hands on this glimpse into his creative process and to spend even more time yelling about this incredible film. 

Staff Pick Badge
Parasite: A Graphic Novel in Storyboards Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781538753255
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - May 19th, 2020

This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar & Max Gladstone

Staff Pick Badge
This Is How You Lose the Time War Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781534430990
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Gallery / Saga Press - March 17th, 2020

This Is How You Lose the Time War combines war via time travel (think Haldeman’s The Forever War), a love story between agents on opposite sides, and the epistolary novel (Les Liaisons dangereuses / Dangerous Liaisons, Griffin & Sabine). Exciting word play, and the intriguing letter delivery methods, made me look forward to the next epistle as much as the main characters did. —Dave

 


The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin

Staff Pick Badge
The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

New York is a city on the brink of becoming something more, something self-aware and able to better care for its people. But an ancient evil is working against that birth, and it will take a ragtag, wildly diverse crew who call the city home to protect it. A love letter to (and a critique of) New York and its burroughs, a haunting exploration of the Lovecraftian racism we face today, and the most punk rock fantasy I’ve read in an age, this is one you can’t miss. —Jax


Heaven, My Home by Attica Locke

Attica Locke’s award-winning Highway 59 series is a favorite of contemporary mystery fans, and this sequel to 2017’s Bluebird, Bluebird is another fantastic novel. It again follows black Texas Ranger Darren Mathews deep into East Texas, this time to the swampy bayous of Caddo Lake in search of a missing child who also happens to be the son of a local member of the Aryan Brotherhood of Texas. Locke’s characters are complex and her writing is evocatively detailed, suspenseful, and intensely atmospheric. I loved it! - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Heaven, My Home (A Highway 59 Novel #2) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316363402
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Mulholland Books - September 17th, 2019

Fortuna by Kristyn Merbeth

I’m so excited for this book! Perfect for fans of Firefly, Becky Chambers, and Catherynne M. Valente, this novel about a family of smugglers caught in an interstellar war—who have to decide whether to take responsibility for their family’s involvement in a devastating massacre or lay low and hope it blows over—is the first of an exciting, suspenseful, and propulsive new space opera trilogy. I can’t wait to read it! - Stuart

Staff Pick Badge
Fortuna (The Nova Vita Protocol #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780316453998
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Orbit - November 5th, 2019

Make It Scream, Make It Burn by Leslie Jamison

I have been ready for this book since devouring The Empathy Exams, Jamison’s first collection of essays that blazed new vistas in the landscape of narrative nonfiction. Here Jamison explores what it means to be wanting, whether as a blue whale, in Second Life, or in our own everyday lives—how do we live with want, how does it haunt, how can it enrich? Make It Scream, Make It Burn does not disappoint; rather it does exactly as the title directs, each of its essays bridging disciplines in astute, thoughtful, urgent ways. A beautiful, mind-reeling pleasure to read. - Melinda

Staff Pick Badge
Make It Scream, Make It Burn: Essays Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316259637
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 24th, 2019

The Witches Are Coming by Lindy West

I’m so here for books written by women and queer folks that reveal the over-50, white, cis-het men behind the pop culture and politics curtain. We’ve existed in a world created by and for these men for too long, and West’s essays are a rallying cry to take up a sledgehammer and knock down those institutions. Don’t settle. Give this to your favorite feminist who needs a good laugh at everything awful that’s going on. - J Gallo

Staff Pick Badge
The Witches Are Coming Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316449885
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Hachette Books - November 5th, 2019

Talking to Strangers by Malcolm Gladwell

The more we seek to understand strangers, the more elusive they become. Brilliantly pertinent, eloquent, and captivating, Gladwell’s Talking to Strangers explores our interactions with strangers through narratives of CIA interrogations, college sexual assaults, the Amanda Knox case, bail arraignment hearings, and more. These interactions—playing on our inherent biases about the truth—have historically led to devastating mistakes when not approached with caution and humility. For everyone from the politically engaged citizen to the college freshman, Talking to Strangers is a must-read. - Charlotte

Staff Pick Badge
Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780316478526
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown and Company - September 10th, 2019

Little Weirds by Jenny Slate

Reading this book felt like looking directly into Jenny Slate’s soul. I have a lot of respect for any comedian who is able to open up about the darker, less humorous aspects of themself, and Slate does that here. In many small vignettes, Slate uses dreams, metaphors, and lyrical language to unspool her recent struggles and try to come to terms with them. - Jade

Staff Pick Badge
Little Weirds Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316485340
Availability: Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days
Published: Little, Brown and Company - November 5th, 2019

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Hachette