User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

I Will Have Vengeance (Commissario Ricciardi #1) (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
I Will Have Vengeance (Commissario Ricciardi #1) Cover Image
Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days

Staff Reviews

I’m a bit addicted to Europa’s World Noir series. I Will Have Vengeance is the first book in a quartet starring Commissario Ricciardi, a detective known for his aloof attitude and high solve rate. His secret? He sees the ghosts of victims, acting out their final moments in an endless, macabre loop. I Will Have Vengeance is a satisfying and intelligent summer read. 

— Kat


Commissario Ricciardi has visions. He sees the final seconds in the lives of victims of violent deaths. It is both a gift and a curse. It has helped him become one of the most successful homicide detectives on the Naples police front. But the horror of his visions has hollowed him out emotionally. He drinks too much and sleeps too little. Other than his loyal partner, Brigadier Maione, he has no friends.

Naples, March 1931: a bitter wind stalks the city streets, and murder lies at its chill heart. When the world's greatest tenor, Maestro Arnaldo Vezzi, is found brutally murdered in his dressing room at Naples' San Carlo Theatre, the enigmatic and aloof Commissario Ricciardi is called in to investigate.

Arrogant and bad-tempered, Vezzi was adored by millions and hated by hundreds, but with the livelihoods of everyone at the San Carlo opera at stake, who there would have committed such an act? Ricciardi is determined to find out.

Fans of Donna Leon and Manuel Vázquez Montalbán will thrill to this fresh voice in crime fiction. I Will Have Vengeance is the first book in a quartet of masterful crime novels set in fascist Italy.

About the Author

Maurizio de Giovanni lives and works in Naples. His Commissario Ricciardi series, of which I Will Have Vengeance is the first, has quickly made him one of Italy's most popular and acclaimed crime authors. Europa Editions has published all five books in the series—Everyone in Their Place, The Day of the Dead, I Will Have Vengeance, Blood Curse, and By My Hand—and the standalone Neapolitan thriller, The Crocodile.

Anne Milano Appel's translation of Stefano Bortolussi's novel Head Above Water was the winner of the 2004 Northern California Book Award for Translation.

Praise For…

Praise for I Will Have Vengeance

"De Giovanni's distinct brand of noir...will appeal to Agatha Christie and Manuel Vázquez Montalbán fans."
Publishers Weekly

"The combination of an unusual detective, historical setting and Italian opera was impossible to resist."

"...such detailed images in the novel that will haunt me for a long time to come"
Books and Writers

"...a colourful novel that imparts a strong sense of time and place...there's more than a touch of Agatha Christie in this tale."
Curious book fans

Product Details
ISBN: 9781609450946
ISBN-10: 1609450949
Publisher: Europa Editions
Publication Date: December 31st, 2012
Pages: 212
Language: English
Series: Commissario Ricciardi
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 3/7/2014 08:25am
Last Updated At: 9/19/2020 06:54pm