User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea (Compact Disc)

Staff Pick Badge
Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea Cover Image
$39.99
Hard to Find - Contact Store for Availability

Staff Reviews


Two sisters, a family trip, the backseat of a car, and the beach. Secret Sisters of the Salty Sea is one of those novels that succeeds in making a string of moments utterly poignant, carrying us along on a first trip away from home. Alix is the younger sister: curious, odd, passionate, and impulsive. Jools is timid but full of longing to live her life fully. In a brief novel, Newbery Award winner Lynne Rae Perkins captures something timeless about this stage of growing up, with a lovable family reminiscent of the Penderwicks. Grades 3–5.

— Tera

Description


Newbery Medalist Lynne Rae Perkins introduces two irresistible sisters--Alix and Jools--and takes readers on an unforgettable vacation to the beach.

This is a joyful celebration of sisters, family, friendship, and the ocean. The Wall Street Journal said, "Ocean meets sky meets two young girls in Lynne Rae Perkins's affectionate chapter book. A sunny summer story." For fans of Kate DiCamillo and Rebecca Stead.

Alix and her older sister, Jools, have never been to the ocean. When their parents pack them up to spend a week by the shore, Alix is nervous about leaving home--but excited, too. At the beach, the sisters make friends, go exploring, and have adventures big and small. To Alix's surprise, as the week comes to an end, she finds she doesn't want to leave

Each chapter contains its own miniature discovery--from picking periwinkles, meeting a crab, and making sandcastles, to exploring the nearby town. Award-winning author Lynne Rae Perkins has beautifully crafted a genuine and engaging novel about sisters, family, and exploration.

A great read-aloud, as well as a good choice for newly independent readers. Booklist said, "Ordinary pleasures, in the hands of a writer so skilled, are elevated."



Product Details
ISBN: 9781538500637
ISBN-10: 1538500639
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: May 15th, 2018
Language: English
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: Ingram
Created At: 12/9/2017 06:07pm
Last Updated At: 9/18/2019 07:12am