User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Terrific (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Terrific Cover Image
Email or call for price
Hard to Find

Staff Reviews


Here’s a triptych of picture books by verbal-visual stuntman Jon Agee. These are each one-joke books, but they are very, very good jokes. Ages 3–8.

— Ga

Description


Grouchy Eugene knew this trip to Bermuda was a bad idea—now he's stranded on a desert island! Luckily, a feathered fellow castaway helps him see that life is pretty terrific in this New York Times Best Illustrated picture book, perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Oliver Jeffers.
 
When grumpy Eugene wins a free cruise to Bermuda, he thinks he knows just what to expect: a really nasty sunburn. But instead, after a shipwreck, he finds himself stranded on a tiny island with no one—except for a parrot with a busted wing. "Terrific," says Eugene. "What good is a parrot?" It turns out a parrot is good for a lot, including planning a very elaborate escape. And when the castaways are rescued by a team of fishermen, it's Eugene's turn to be kind to his new friend.

About the Author


Jon Agee is the author/illustrator of many acclaimed books for children, including the Boston Globe–Horn Book Honor Winner It's Only Stanley and the ALA Notable Books Little SantaTerrificMilo's Hat Trick, and The Incredible Painting of Felix Clousseau, and a series of popular wordplay books including the IRA-CBC Children's Choice book of palindromes, Go Hang a Salami! I'm a Lasagna Hog! Jon grew up along the Hudson River in Nyack, New York, and went to college at The Cooper Union School of Art in New York City, where he studied painting and filmmaking. Now a full-time author, he lives in San Francisco with his wife, Audrey.

Praise For…


Awards and Praise for Terrific

New York Times Ten Best Illustrated Books
ALA Notable Book
Horn Book Fanfare
PW Best Books of the Year
Book Sense Top Ten Pick

* "Agee uses tone, pacing, and deadpan humor to great effect; his masterful illustrations beg to be shared with a group." —Horn Book, starred review

* "An upbeat conclusion that trumpets the power of friendship provides an unironic 'Terrific!' at last." —Publishers Weekly, starred review


Product Details
ISBN: 9780735229884
ISBN-10: 0735229880
Publisher: Dial Books
Publication Date: September 12th, 2017
Pages: 40
Language: English
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 1/21/2017 03:00pm
Last Updated At: 9/5/2020 10:07am