User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

War Girls (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
War Girls Cover Image
$18.99
On Our Shelves Now
3 on hand, as of Dec 15 12:30pm
(KIDS)

Staff Reviews


War Girls hits the ground running and doesn’t stop until the last page. Full of heart-pounding action and terrible, beautiful technology, Onyebuchi’s created an incredible future Nigeria that jumps off the page. The sister-bond between Onyii and Ify is a bright spark of love and hope in this unflinching look at the toll war takes on children and teens. Give this to fans of post-apocalyptic dystopias and Black Panther—these genius warriors with enormous hearts are prime candidates for the Dora Milaje.

— J Gallo

Description


Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria.

The year is 2172. Climate change and nuclear disasters have rendered much of earth unlivable. Only the lucky ones have escaped to space colonies in the sky.

In a war-torn Nigeria, battles are fought using flying, deadly mechs and soldiers are outfitted with bionic limbs and artificial organs meant to protect them from the harsh, radiation-heavy climate. Across the nation, as the years-long civil war wages on, survival becomes the only way of life.

Two sisters, Onyii and Ify, dream of more. Their lives have been marked by violence and political unrest. Still, they dream of peace, of hope, of a future together.

And they're willing to fight an entire war to get there.

Acclaimed author, Tochi Onyebuchi, has written an immersive, action-packed, deeply personal novel perfect for fans of Nnedi Okorafor, Marie Lu, and Paolo Bacigalupi.

About the Author


Tochi Onyebuchi is a writer based in Connecticut. He holds a BA from Yale, an MFA in screenwriting from Tisch, and a JD from Columbia Law School. Tochi is the author of Beasts Made of Night and Crown of Thunder.

Praise For…


"A brilliant novel about sisters, war, and freedom."--Booklist, starred review 

"Set amid the horrors of war in a world ravaged by climate change and nuclear disaster, this heart-wrenching and complex page-turner, drawn from the 1960s Nigerian civil war, will leave readers stunned and awaiting the second installment."--Publishers Weekly, starred review 

"The intense plot is narrated in alternating third-person perspectives, and the author explores themes surrounding colonization, family, and the injustices of war. The story culminates in an unexpected, heart-wrenching end. An exhilarating series opener."--Kirkus Reviews 

"[A] compulsively readable story with high action and high drama in equal measure. Perfect for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi’s novels and the Pacific Rim films."--SLJ

War Girls
is a brutal and spectacular feat of imagination.”--Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles series.


Product Details
ISBN: 9780451481672
ISBN-10: 0451481674
Publisher: Razorbill
Publication Date: October 15th, 2019
Pages: 464
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 1/20/2019 10:01am
Last Updated At: 12/15/2019 01:17pm
Make a donation to our Holiday Book Drive:

THANK YOU FOR SUPPORTING LOCAL PUBLIC SCHOOLS!