User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

New store hours: 10:00 AM - 8:00 PM Daily. Masks encouraged.

Penny and Her Doll (Hardcover)

Penny and Her Doll Cover Image
By Kevin Henkes, Kevin Henkes (Illustrator)
$14.99
Not On Our Shelves, But Available from Warehouse - Usually Delivers in 3-14 Days

Fall '12 Kids List


“While Penny is in the garden smelling flowers, the mailman delivers a new doll from Gram. What should Penny name her? She tries names that she knows and names based on what she is wearing, but nothing seems right. Perhaps the answer is right under her nose!”
— Lisa Fabiano, Wellesley Books, Wellesley, MA

Description


Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes’s award-winning Penny returns in the second easy-to-read story about a sweet and curious mouse, perfect for fans Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse, Owen, and Chrysanthemum.

When Penny receives a surprise box in the mail from Gram, she is thrilled. The surprise is a doll, and she is absolutely perfect, from her head to her toes. Penny loves her immediately. She introduces her new doll to Mama and to the babies and to Papa. But then Papa asks what the doll's name is, and Penny realizes that she doesn't know. What should Penny call her?

Kevin Henkes is a master at creating beautifully illustrated books that resonate with young children. The Penny books are new classics for beginning readers and will appeal to fans of Frog and Toad, Little Bear, and Henry and Mudge.

Don't miss Penny's newest adventures in Penny and Her Sled!

About the Author


Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Sun Flower Lion, A Parade of Elephants, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in a house in Madison, Wisconsin.



Kevin Henkes has been praised both as a writer and as an illustrator and is the recipient of the Children’s Literature Legacy Award for his lasting contribution to literature for children. He received the Caldecott Medal for Kitten’s First Full Moon; Caldecott Honors for Waiting and Owen; two Newbery Honors—one for Olive’s Ocean and one for The Year of Billy Miller—and Geisel Honors for Waiting and Penny and Her Marble. His other books include Sun Flower Lion, A Parade of Elephants, Chrysanthemum, and the beloved Lilly’s Purple Plastic Purse. Kevin Henkes lives with his family in a house in Madison, Wisconsin.

Praise For…


“Henkes continues to give children reasons to want to read, long after the satisfaction of learning how to has passed.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“A doll of a beginning reader.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“The dynamics are spot-on.”
Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“As supremely satisfying as a Henkes picture book, this beginning reader belongs in collections everywhere.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)

Praise for Little White Rabbit: “Kevin Henkes has a rare ability to see through the eyes of children of all ages.”
— Horn Book (starred review)

“Enormously appealing.”
— School Library Journal (starred review)


Product Details
ISBN: 9780062081995
ISBN-10: 0062081993
Publisher: Greenwillow Books
Publication Date: August 21st, 2012
Pages: 32
Language: English
Series: Penny
ABA Admin Product Details
Data Source: ONIX
Created At: 3/7/2014 08:25am
Last Updated At: 7/28/2021 06:14am