User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Young Adult Books from our 2020 Summer Newsletter

These titles were featured in the Young Readers section of our 2020 Summer Newsletter. These books are just a sampling of this year's many wonderful new books. Visit our children's and youn adults' sections in our store, and we will help you choose just the right book.

Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo

National Book Award winner Elizabeth Acevedo returns to verse in this meditation on the complexities of themes, including grief, betrayal, family, secrets, identity, class, and toxic masculinity. Acevedo’s characterizations (the two main characters—sisters—have very distinctive voices) are stellar. I was particularly struck by how the book highlights the way men’s choices have a profound impact on the lives of the women and girls around them.

Staff Pick Badge
Clap When You Land Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062882769
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Quill Tree Books - May 5th, 2020

Date Me, Bryson Keller by Kevin van Whye

I loved this book! Protagonist Kai is utterly lovable, as is his love interest Bryson. What a wonderful thing: a queer coming-out love story free of trauma and full of good feelings. This sweet romance kept me happily reading from the first page to the last; chances are it’ll do the same for you.

Staff Pick Badge
Date Me, Bryson Keller Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593126035
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - May 19th, 2020

Felix Ever After by Kacen Callendar

Felix attends a very prestigious art school and is struggling with his identity when he gets targeted by an anonymous transphobic bully and everyone becomes suspect. I really appreciated Felix’s candor as he works through the various threads of his life. Being a teenager is hard and Felix doesn’t always get it right. This is a great read for all teens, especially for those trying to find their place in the world.

Staff Pick Badge
Felix Ever After Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062820259
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 5th, 2020

Love from A to Z by S. K. Ali

This thoroughly satisfying novel is not only a love story (you’re warned at the outset what you’re in for). It also features vivid, recognizable characters; insight into the diversity of the Muslim faith; glimpses of the Qatari city Doha; true friendship (with solidarity and jealousy); and a call to action against injustice. I was delighted to meet these characters and their world—ours, but with the hope of something better. Great for fans of John Green, Rainbow Rowell, and Nicola Yoon.

Staff Pick Badge
Love from A to Z Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781534442733
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Salaam Reads / Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 9th, 2020

Raybearer by Jordan Ifueko

What a gem: a fully realized fantasy world with lots of contemporary relevance. Tarisai’s longing for family and connection make her an empathetic and relatable protagonist, while her strength and fortitude in standing up to corrupt power make her admirable. A great choice for fans of fantasy, stories with strong female leads, or anyone looking for a good book.

Pre-Order Now Badge
Raybearer Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781419739828
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Amulet Books - August 18th, 2020

Subscribe to RSS - Young Adult Books from our 2020 Summer Newsletter