User menu

Shopping cart

0 Items $0.00

Middle Grade Books from our 2020 Summer Newsletter

These titles were featured in the Young Readers section of our 2020 Summer Newsletter. These books are just a sampling of this year's many wonderful new books. Visit our children's and youn adults' sections in our store, and we will help you choose just the right book.

Echo Mountain by Lauren Wolk

From the author of Wolf Hollow and Beyond the Bright Sea comes a fresh take on an old story: one family’s struggle to survive during the Great Depression. Through young Ellie’s eyes, we see both the hardship and the great freedoms that her family’s move to Echo Mountain presents. Ellie’s resilience, cleverness, and profound honesty keep us rooting for her from beginning to end. This novel made me believe that I was running up and down the mountain alongside her.

Staff Pick Badge
Echo Mountain Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525555568
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dutton Books for Young Readers - April 21st, 2020

Mañanaland by Pam Muñoz Ryan

A beautiful work of magical realism, Mañanaland shows us the courage of immigrants and those who help and support them. Pam Munoz Ryan is always an expert storyteller and this rich novel is one to dig into and discuss. Perfect for a family book club. —Emma

From the genius behind Esperanza Rising and Echo comes the fantastical story of Max, an 11-year-old boy who loves stories. Ever since Max’s mother disappeared when he was a baby, his family has been full of secrets. Then Max makes a discovery that changes his life forever, putting him on a quest for the true story. Great for fantasy readers! —MJ

Staff Pick Badge
Mañanaland Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338157864
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - March 3rd, 2020

Summer of a Thousand Pies by Margaret Dilloway

Cady Bennett is such a cool kid! Landing in the house of two aunts after growing up homeless with her dad in San Diego, Cady uses her strong survival skills to learn to trust adults who will do what they promise. The Great British Baking Show and a thousand pies inspire Cady to save the day. This book is all about feeling that you belong.

Staff Pick Badge
Summer of a Thousand Pies Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062803474
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 12th, 2020

A Wolf Called Wander Written by Rosanne Parry Illustrated by Mónica Armiño

Told from the (fictional) perspective of a (real) wolf, this book is perfect for the budding middle grade naturalist. It’s a great look into the behaviors and habits of wolves, how the pack operates, and what a wolf without a pack might do, all in a fascinating, age-appropriate narrative form. Fans of Pax and Endling, and older fans of Wild Robot, will appreciate the environmental message of this touching story.

Staff Pick Badge
A Wolf Called Wander Cover Image
By Rosanne Parry, Mónica Armiño (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062895936
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Greenwillow Books - May 7th, 2019

When Stars Are Scattered Written by Victoria Jamieson & Omar Mohamed Illustrated by Victoria Jamieson & Iman Geddy

For this excellent graphic novel memoir, Victoria Jameison worked closely with Omar Mohamed, a Somali refugee and founder of the nonprofit Refugee Strong, to tell Mohamed’s story of growing up in a refugee camp, which included caring for his younger brother Hassan, who has a developmental disability. The characters are deeply relatable, and the realities of refugee life are presented without being overwhelming or melodramatic. A great choice for fans of nonfiction and historical fiction graphic novels like March and White Bird.

Staff Pick Badge
When Stars Are Scattered Cover Image
By Victoria Jamieson, Omar Mohamed, Victoria Jamieson (Illustrator), Iman Geddy (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780525553908
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Dial Books - April 14th, 2020

Subscribe to RSS - Middle Grade Books from our 2020 Summer Newsletter